motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

I’ve Been Lookin’ For You Everywhere

There you are, I’ve been lookin’ for you everywhere!

Gee you’re lookin’ well, ya been crook long?

Wadya mean your fine and been here the whole time.

It’s me that’s been M.I.A.?

Hibernating – Yes, this is me at 12 years old

OK. Guilty as charged.

I guess it has been a while since my last post hasn’t it. Three months in fact, almost to the day.

First off, thanks to those of you who emailed me asking about my well-being. I have to admit I was, and still am humbled by your inquires and well wishes. I had no idea a hiatus such as this would be the cause for concern.

I guess I should offer some explanation on how this blog deteriorated from a regular weekly post to nada so fast?

No, I haven’t been hibernating. I might be a bear at times, but it doesn’t get that cold in Brisbane during winter.

In fact as I write this, its 31°C (88°F) outside. So that’s not the reason.

There’s been no illness, no misfortune or accident either. Simply put, there’s been so much going in my life, I’ve hardly had any time to myself.

What with selling my mums place in Sydney and getting her re-settled in Brisbane, to kids moving out… or coming home, as the case may be. To yard work, painting the house , surgical procedures, car repairs after a dog attacked it… and real work… you know, the one thing you get paid to do.

I just haven’t had time; and when I do have time, I’m dead on my feet.

I’ve been so time poor I haven’t even been out on the bike for a real ride since January.

We all know riding to and from work doesn’t count, right?

The GMC Servo At Cooyar Owned By Garry McCoy AKA “The Slide King”

In fact the first real ride I went on was on July 23 out to Cooyar, north-west of Brisbane. The Pillion and I headed out with some friends and covered about 350km (220 mi) that day, stopping in at the slide king, Garry McCoy, service station for a hamburger.

Sadly Garry wasn’t there, but the hamburger did it’s job and filled the hole under our noses nicely.

The ride up cleared away the cobwebs and the ride back was bliss.

The Shawsie

Then, a couple of weeks ago The Pillion, The Bar Tender and I headed down to northern NSW.

We left at around 08:30 and didn’t get home until after 19:00.

It was a big day of riding. We covered 620km (385 mi), doing a loop from our home on Brisbane’s north side, down through Beaudesert, Woodenbong (love that name), Lismore and Ballina, where we stopped for lunch and live music at the Shawsie.

Mooball Roadhouse

The trip home was a little less twisty with the only real challenge being over the Burringbar Range to Mooball and Murwillumbah. From there, we joined the Pacific Highway to Tweed Heads and rode north. That last bit was 134km (83 mi) of long, flat and boooring.

I’m still time poor, but I’m hoping over the next few months it will get easier. Starting on August 27, this weekend, I’m heading out to Morgan Park Raceway to watch the The Australian Superbikes. Something I haven’t done in a very long time.

After that, there’ll be more rides, maybe a weekend away or two, and of course a trip down to the Laverda Concours at Cleveland (not Ohio – QLD) in October.

As for returning to regular weekly posts?

I’ll have to see how that pans out. I guess I’m just going to have to make time.

After all, you know what they say: “All Work and no play…”

Cheers


Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

Skennars Head At Dawn

16 responses

  1. Good to hear from you again!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 24, 2017 at 4:02 AM

  2. After reading your post, I wonder if we are travelling parallel lives. Nice to know you’re still kicking. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    August 24, 2017 at 7:26 AM

    • Thank you.

      Somehow I don’t think we are the only ones. Seems things a busier now than even 10 years ago

      Liked by 1 person

      August 24, 2017 at 8:11 AM

  3. Bob

    Glad to hear from you Ghost. Welcome back!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 24, 2017 at 9:35 AM

  4. It’s a delight to read ya again, Ghost, and cool vintage pic there! I’m happy to hear that you’ve experienced no serious misfortune aside from “surgical procedures, car repairs after a dog attacked it… and real work…”. 😀 😀 😀
    Oh, and for what it’s worth, a Woodenbong would likely just leak water or end up smoldered to ash…

    Liked by 1 person

    August 24, 2017 at 1:40 PM

    • Oh, and the laughs are–of course–not about the surgical procedures, but for the visual of a dog-on-car attack that’s serious enough to require repairs and for the notion that real work can indeed be a misfortune, a necessary evil… But I’m sure you figured as much. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      August 24, 2017 at 1:47 PM

      • Yes. The attack cost $3500 in repairs. But It’s a plastic car… not steel and chrome like the old days

        Like

        August 24, 2017 at 2:25 PM

    • Unless its a town the size of a Woodenbong. In which case no one would care 😉

      Like

      August 24, 2017 at 2:23 PM

  5. As they say my friend, ‘that’s life!’.

    Good to get a post out of you though, keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 24, 2017 at 4:52 PM

  6. Good to hear you are alive and well. The blog always comes secondary to life. Live life, blog when you can, and we’ll be here when you do. Cheers.

    Liked by 3 people

    August 25, 2017 at 11:24 AM

  7. LB

    Hello! So good to hear from you, and to know that despite the busy times, all is essentially well.
    I’ve been in about the same situation and have had trouble keeping up with WP.
    Glad you got to get out and ride. I know that made you happy!
    Hey, did I tell you I’m visiting NZ and Australia in February?
    Most of my time will be in NZ visiting several blogger friends, but I’m coming to your country, too, at least for a few days. I may never get another chance, right?
    I’ll be renting a bike in NZ; haven’t decided what I will do in Australia yet.
    Just FYI.
    Take care!!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 5, 2017 at 12:30 PM

    • Thanks Laurie. You did mention it. But not what part of Oz you’re visiting. So much to see. Youll need more than a few days though.

      NZ is out bucket list too. So many have told me about it and the articles ive read just reinfirces what I’ve heard.

      Stay well.

      Like

      September 8, 2017 at 7:14 PM

Leave a Reply

