motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Never Leave A Rider In Distress

G’day

Many states in Australia have adopted lane filtering laws.

Each state has their own rules, and while much is similar, there are some differences in what you can and can’t do legally. Which in turn can cause some confusion for interstate riders.

What’s legal in Queensland may not be in New South Wales or Victoria.

The common thread with all state and territory laws is that:

  1. Your speed when filtering must be 30km/h (18mph) or less
  2. You are not allowed to lane filter at a speed of more than 30km/h.

Exceeding this speed while manoeuvring between vehicles, that is either moving or stationary, is defined as lane splitting, and is punishable by having your armpits infested with the fleas of a thousand camels.

Well not really, in Queensland its three points and $365, but it varies state to state.

That said, most riders filter, or have done at one time or another.

Some refuse to filter, believing it to be a dangerous practice. To each their own.

I’ll admit I lane filter, either when the traffic is stopped or moving below 30km/h. It saves me time during my daily commute and allows me to move to a safer place in the line of traffic to avoid being rear ended if I end up being tail end Charlie.

I pick my moments and won’t filter past moving semi’s or  buses, and won’t pull my mirrors in to squeeze past a couple of close vehicles. I’m just not in that much of a hurry.

There are some riders that like to filter, or more correctly lane split, through traffic at speed. For the most part nothing comes of it, but sometimes it goes pear-shaped. I don’t condone this, but again, to each their own.

Why am I blithering on about this?

Because the other day on the way home from work, I was passed by two riders who were negotiating (filtering through) slow-moving traffic.

I’d chosen not to filter because the traffic was rubber banding.

I call it rubber banding as I don’t know what else to call it. I guess to describe it, I’d have to say the traffic would speed up then slow down in quick succession, causing a bunching and separating effect between the vehicles.

Instead, I positioned myself to the outside lane, ready for a quick exit in case old mate behind me didn’t pull up in time, and turned me into a sandwich.

Anyway, both riders passed me and went on their merry way, while I continued for another 500m (1600 ft) or so in the queue until the traffic came to a stand still.

At this point I took the opportunity to filter through, eventually coming to a point where I could see where the problem was. Everything was stopped at a point in the distance and the road was empty beyond that point.

You don’t need to be Einstein to work out what had happened.

I made my way over to the breakdown lane and continued to the head of the queue where I parked Bluey.

I wasn’t prepared for what was there. A rider was in the middle of the road, his bike was a metre or so away from him. At a quick glance I could see the rider was alive, but in a lot of pain.

Most of the onlookers were just standing around, except for two people. One lady was on the phone to triple zero (911 for you ‘Mericans) and another bloke was trying to ascertain the condition of the rider.

At this point I came in to do what I could to help, which wasn’t much really, other than to try to calm the rider and ask some questions… his name, where it hurt, could I call someone for him, that sort of thing.

Once he was conformable, I left the first responder to it and enlisted a couple of blokes to help me get the bike upright and off the road. It was leaking fluids and there were people smoking in the vicinity. The last thing we needed was a fire.

I asked another bloke to head up the road a bit and try to encourage the traffic to merge and go around. This allowed us to keep and area clear for the ambo’s* when they arrived.

Most onlookers left once we’d cleared a lane for the traffic to start moving again, a few remained until the ambulance arrived. I couldn’t offer much more than a friendly face at this point, but I knew his partner was on her way so I stayed. I wasn’t sure how she would react seeing the mess but to her credit she was composed and in control.

When the ambos arrived they worked on the rider for about 20 minutes where he lay, eventually moving him to the ambulance, where they worked on him some more.

The riders partner arrived and I filled her in on what I knew, and helped her load his gear into her car, except his helmet. 

That went in the ambulance with the rider. They examine it for points of impact at the hospital in the event of head injuries.

In total, I remained at the scene for about an hour.

So what happened you might ask…

Well, it turns out, the second rider that had passed me a few minutes earlier had clipped a car which had braked hard and moved slightly into his path (The rubber band effect). That initial clip speared him off towards a semi which he also clipped… and down he went.

The rider was very lucky, the alternative could have been far worse.

As for the semi driver, he didn’t see, hear or feel a thing and kept going. Maybe someone will tell him about it at the next truck stop, or over the CB.

Maybe he’ll never know.

Thinking back, this is the first time I’ve come across an incident like this, and its surprising what you remember from courses you do.

The Pillion and I did a co8rse with First Aid For Motorcyclists < link > prior to leaving for our trip down south last year. The course not only covered basic first aid, but also accident scene management and how to deal specifically with motorcycle accidents and injuries. Even how… and when… to remove a helmet.

Also, I don’t know why I stayed at the scene. I certainly didn’t have to.

Perhaps it’s this part of the bikers (riders) code?

Never leave a brother or sister behind.

I don’t know. It just felt like the right thing to do.

Would I do it again?

You bet I would, because there may be a time when I need the favour returned, and, I’m a firm believer in karma.

One last thing.

It was made abundantly clear to me that day, of how vulnerable we are as riders, and how quickly things can change. It has made me appreciate that what we enjoy should not be taken for granted and that we all have someone waiting for us at home.

To the rider on the ZX10R, if you’re reading this, heal quick mate.

Cheers

Thanks to Jaja for the use of his “writing box” 😉

  • Ambo’s: Ambulance officers.
  • Towie: Tow truck operator.

Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

20 responses

  1. Great job helping the way you did. I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for a first response class to attend. I knew what you meant by rubber banding! In my part of ‘Merica it’s referred to as the accordion effect too.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 12, 2017 at 2:49 AM

    • Thank you, but I didn’t do much.

      Those courses are worth every cent. I’d recommend them to all riders, because we are usually the first on the scene. Especially in the twisties.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 12, 2017 at 6:52 AM

  2. I may have shared this before, but I was sitting in traffic when the stopped van next to me got stamped by a full-sized pick-up at about 20 mph (he was on an important call). I had just earlier contemplated changing into that lane. Lane filtering would’ve removed me completely from any possibility of becoming the baloney in that cager sandwich.
    I never saw it coming and the bang from the impact rattled me pretty good. I am now even more leery in stopped traffic.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 12, 2017 at 3:42 AM

    • And the sad thing is Mike, there are a lot of important calls now days.

      I’m glad the legalised it over here and from what i hear there is a lot of reform in your neighbourhood too.

      At least now we can get out of a dangerous situation without fear of a ticket.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 12, 2017 at 6:56 AM

  3. I think I can speak for the rider you aided, and if not for him, then let me thank you for the time it could be me. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 12, 2017 at 4:38 AM

    • Honestly I hope that day never comes. And I mean that in the nicest possible way

      Liked by 1 person

      April 12, 2017 at 6:57 AM

      • Yep! I hear you. Two weeks ago it was some other kind folk helping to pick me up off the pavement. I was rear ended in single lane traffic. I should have been watching my mirrors more closely. The driver was very busy “putting her window down.”

        Liked by 1 person

        April 12, 2017 at 7:05 AM

        • We’re all guilty of that at some point, not checking the mirrors I mean. Chalk it up to a learning experience.

          Hope those bruises a healing OK

          Liked by 1 person

          April 12, 2017 at 8:20 AM

  4. Yikes. I think you did well pulling over to do what you could. Other folks might try and help but other riders know enough to help get the bike up and out of the way, etc.
    It reminds me think of a trip we were taking on our local interstate. We were in the car but two guys on fully decked out Harley’s were lane splitting (illegal in Oregon) They were going too fast and even passed an ambulance. We figured we’d see them wrecked ahead but never did. They had California plates on both bikes where they are allowed to filter, but still not at those speeds.
    Hope the gent heals quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 12, 2017 at 6:22 AM

    • Like I said most of the time when they Lane split nothing comes of it but sometimes maybe 1 in 1000 it all goes pear shaped.

      I should send a text to him today to find out how is holding up, I still have his number.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 12, 2017 at 7:01 AM

  5. I like you always stop. You can’t expect help if you’re never willing to give it yourself.

    Liked by 2 people

    April 13, 2017 at 12:02 AM

  6. Bob

    Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping for a fellow rider, Ghost. We may not be able to do much more than give support, water, calming talk, etc. to the fallen rider, but whatever help is given is sure to be appreciated. I too believe in Karma. What goes ’round comes ’round.

    Liked by 2 people

    April 14, 2017 at 12:55 AM

  7. Yes, definitely the right thing to stop and thank you for doing it. You understood what non-riders would not.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 16, 2017 at 2:39 AM

    • You’re right you know. There are some things that, although not a big secrete, should be attended too before removing jackets and helmets

      Liked by 1 person

      April 17, 2017 at 9:18 AM

  8. Good work mate, any sort of help is better than no help at all. I think I would have stopped to help as well and would like to think other riders would help out a brother in need.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 16, 2017 at 10:55 AM

    • Thank you. I think other riders would stop for an accident, not sure about a simple break down though. I’ve seen a lot over the years on my commute and it always amazes me how many look but don’t stop.

      Sometimes it can be hard to get across 3 lanes of traffic if your in the wrong lane though

      Like

      April 17, 2017 at 9:24 AM

  9. Good on ya, Ghost. Karma or do-unto-others… Call it what you will—folks taking a few minutes to express genuine concern for a stranger can only help to make this a better world for all.
    Were I in such an accident, I’m sure I’d take great comfort in concern expressed, and aid rendered, by a fellow rider, even if a stranger. And I say go for it, send him a text—a bit more good will about the situation can’t hurt.
    Oh, and “lane splitting…is punishable by having your armpits infested with the fleas of a thousand camels.” 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    April 16, 2017 at 11:54 AM

Leave a Reply

