motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

I Can See Clearly

G’day

In last weeks post, Take The Long Way Home, I mentioned arguing with myself about why I don’t ride the scenic route home from work more often:

The days were too short during winter for this route (but there is a slightly shorter alternative I retorted, you’d be home before dark. Easy)

The shorter route I mentioned is 64km (40 mi), compared to 100km (62 mi), and instead of following Waterworks Road out to The Gap and continuing to the hills west of Brisbane, you hang a right at Settlement Road, The Gap and follow that though to Samford Village.

Samford Village is common to both routes. The only difference being that you approach from different directions.

From that point there are a couple of options for the trip home, either through Dayboro, Clear Mountain or Strathpine.

icansee-clearly004

I decided to take the run over Clear Mountain.

This isn’t a route I’d ridden before and to be honest it’s not something I thought to investigate previously, because getting to it requires passing through suburbia.

It wasn’t until The Melting Man showed me some footage and stills of his ride through the area that my interest was piqued.

Clear Mountain Road starts at Bunya Road, Draper and continues for around 16km (10 mi) out to Winn Road, Mt Sampson.

icansee-clearly005

It’s a minor rural residential road with little traffic. There are some nice sections with twists, turns, hills and hollows to keep the interest up, it all seems pretty average until you round a bend that leads on to a ridge overlooking Lake Samsonvale.

That stretch just beckons you to pull over and immerse yourself in the view, which is what I did.

There aren’t any parking bays or picnic areas along the ridge, but the residents don’t seem to mind people parking on the side of the road. Although, there was a yapping dog that didn’t like me parking near “his” front gate.

Lake Samsonvale is also known as the North Pine Dam, and is one of twelve water catchments supplying South East Queensland along with Wivenhoe and Somerset, which I’ve mentioned previously.

Like the other dams in the area, there are picnic areas, walking tracks and places to partake in various waterborne activities.

icansee-clearly001

The ride down from Clear Mountain presents you with a “which way now” dilemma when you reach Winn Road

Turn right and head out to Dayboro to places more twisty, or turn left for the run home via Bullocky Rest and suburbia.

I took the left turn.

I kinda had to. Mum had arrived from Sydney earlier in the day.

We don’t get to see each other as often as we’d like due to the distance between us, so I didn’t want keep her waiting too long.

I’m hoping this might change in the future, but that’s a story for a another day.

Cheers.


Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

8 responses

  1. Wow, some beautiful views in those pics.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 26, 2017 at 6:50 AM

  2. Love this song. Haven’t heard it for years. Also, love exploring those back roads. Spent many a Sunday in my late teens at Cedar Creek or grass skiing out that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 26, 2017 at 5:35 PM

  3. Just sharing another australian riders blog – http://overyondaonahonda.com/2016/04/page/2/
    I remember we once talked about your ‘dream ride’ of riding in the mountains.. You might find something in their pages that might interest you 😉 especially when they talk about riding on Vancouver Island hint hint.. – insert innocent look here –

    Liked by 1 person

    January 27, 2017 at 8:26 AM

    • Thanks for the link.
      That trip is still on the to do list. It will happen eventually 🙂

      Like

      January 27, 2017 at 9:31 AM

  4. LB

    Glad you took the turn to visit your mom 🙂
    And even more glad that I can see your images and know you are riding.
    Icy roads, freezing temps, and too much work have kept me off the bike.
    Living vicariously through you!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 6, 2017 at 7:55 AM

    • I had to LB, she was at our place 🙂 and in a few weeks I’ll be driving the 600 miles or so down to her place in Sydney. (Not riding this time, sadly)

      There’s more to this. All good too.

      Liked by 1 person

      February 6, 2017 at 8:11 AM

Leave a Reply

