motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

The Alpine Way.

G’day

On the return leg of our trip to Tasmania earlier this year, I had the opportunity to ride a road I’d heard a lot about, but never ridden.

The Alpine Way starts a few kilometres west of Khancoban and stretches some 120km (75 miles) through The Mount Kosciuszko National Park, ending at ‘T’ intersection on the outskirts of Jindabyne NSW.

I’d heard a lot about the riding through the Snowy Mountains, there are literally dozens of roads to keep a motorcyclist entertained, and The Alpine Way has always had me intrigued.

Maybe it’s the name “The Alpine Way”, or maybe it’s because it passes through the National Park, I’m not sure but the decision was made.

This was the route I was going to take from Melbourne to Sydney, and I was going to record that section on my Contour Roam II camera.

thealpinewayinhyperlapse002

The New South Wales police don’t like riders wearing helmet cameras for some reason, but I figured I’d take a chance and record the ride anyway.

As it turned out, there weren’t any police on our chosen route, and the officer at the random breath testing station I passed north of Jindabyne waved us through without batting an eyelid. Thank you officer.

Maybe its only the GoPro style cameras they don’t like?

So here it is. My two hours – 10 minute ride along The Alpine Way from Khancoban to Thredbo!

OMG Siberia! I Think I Took A Wrong Turn At Albuquerque

OMG Siberia! I Think I Took A Wrong Turn At Albuquerque

Relax. I’m not going to inflict two hours of “road” on you. I’ve condensed it down to around 3-1/2 minutes including credits using Microsoft Hyper-lapse Pro Software.

I gave the Microsoft offering a try, it’s watermarked (because it’s a trial version) but it gives a nice effect. The watermark can be removed by registering, but for this experiment I couldn’t see the point. Besides there are other hyper-Lapse software options available and it would be unwise to leap in and grab the first one I came across.

So what is hyper-lapse?

To quote Geoff Tompkinson:

With time-lapse, the action in a scene is sped-up and the camera is either static or moving very short distances under control of some sort of motorized motion rig.

Hyper-lapse enables the camera to be moved over considerable distances. This movement can occur across relatively uneven terrain, can pass without disturbance through crowded situations, and allows for fully controlled complex motion paths and camera angle changes.

I like the effect, and perhaps I’ll do some research on the various other software alternatives available before settling on a final solution. I think I’ll need to buy a new camera though; The Contour is 4 years old and the image quality has deteriorated somewhat over the years.

If you know more about hyper-lapse, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts and any pointers you might have.

Cheers


Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

19 responses

  1. I’ve not seen hyperlapse before and I agree I like the effect. Generally I’m not a big fan of videos but this was gave a quick glimpse into what the road and the ride was like into a compressed format. Nice. And the other reason I don’t like video is that I just don’t have the knack or patience for the required editing.

    Great job

    Liked by 1 person

    October 19, 2016 at 10:14 PM

    • Thank you. I’ve done several helmet cam clips and anything more than a few minutes is boring.

      This hyperlapse thing can give quite a bit of scope to include off bike footage.

      Gotta find out more about it.

      Like

      October 19, 2016 at 10:19 PM

      • I wasn’t going to say it. But yes boring and hence the need for good editing. I would be interested in what you turn up.

        I like still shots but you never know I may just be convinced to look at video.

        Liked by 1 person

        October 19, 2016 at 10:28 PM

        • Still shots still do it for me, You can capture a moment much better if you’re not an accomplished videographer.

          Like

          October 20, 2016 at 8:15 AM

  2. So do take a Ferry to Tasmania or is there a bridge?

    Liked by 1 person

    October 19, 2016 at 10:14 PM

    • Over night (or day) ferry. Bass strait crossing takes around 10 hours from Melbourne to Devonport

      Liked by 1 person

      October 19, 2016 at 10:16 PM

      • I think I can say Australia is on the bucket list. Riding motorcycles down there would be stellar, but just being there would be good enough. Love hearing about it!

        Liked by 1 person

        October 19, 2016 at 11:06 PM

        • You won’t regret it.

          But then I want to head over to North America and have a poke around too, I’ve heard som much about it, it too is on my bucket list. There’s so much in this world to see and experience

          Liked by 1 person

          October 20, 2016 at 8:19 AM

          • Agreed. There’s always another adventure and never enough time or money.

            Liked by 1 person

            October 20, 2016 at 8:28 AM

  3. The hyperlapse looks pretty good!

    It’s been years since I did any video editing, so I doubt I can be of much help there. One thing that I noticed is that the hyperlapse speed seems pretty constant. Would it be possible to speed up and slow down the “speed factor” to give a more “whole ride” experience? So instead of the fade in/out transitions, you would speed up the hyperlapse up to 500x normal speed or so?

    If you are going to buy a new camera, I heard some pretty positive stories about both the TomTom and Sony action cams.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 19, 2016 at 11:33 PM

    • You can set the rate to your choosing 8x, 10x or more but not 500x. That clip was 10x

      If you wanted to do it in sections (fast – normal – slow) you would have to chop the clip up and stitch it back together because as it stands now its all or nothing using the Hyper-lapse software

      Thanks for the tip on the action cams, I’ll do a bit of research and see what I come up with

      Thanks for commenting

      Like

      October 20, 2016 at 8:24 AM

  4. I didn’t like it….I loved it!!!!!

    I’m the same about videos, indifferent is the word, I even get bored looking at my own stuff, but this approach is great. Well done.
    Now if I email you a bunch of mine how about some editing, please? 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

    Regards, Dookes

    Liked by 1 person

    October 20, 2016 at 4:52 AM

    • Thank you..

      Email away… but they must be short clips to fit in an email ?

      Mine start at about 1.5gb for about 45 minutes worth of raw footage 😉

      Like

      October 20, 2016 at 8:26 AM

  5. I too liked the hyper lapse. it gave us a nice sped up version of what your ride was like. A peek into road conditions, weather, and the view speeding by.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 20, 2016 at 7:25 AM

    • I’ll have to do some more riding related stuff, but off bike. I reckon you could make a nice clip by mixing it up a bit on bike, off bike (looking around someplace)…

      See what I can do over the summer

      Like

      October 20, 2016 at 8:28 AM

  6. Loved it. And what a great road you traveled!

    Like

    October 20, 2016 at 10:31 AM

  7. Awesome post. Fantastic editing. Loved the ride! Thanks for sharing 👌

    Like

    October 20, 2016 at 12:27 PM

  8. Well it looks like a fun road, but I may be the one motorcycle rider that couldn’t watch the video without feeling nauseous. 😮

    I am similar to other commenters in that I do not have the patience for editing video. I guess I’ll stick with photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 26, 2016 at 2:51 AM

  9. LB

    You did a great job with the video and once I got used to you riding on the wrong side of the road – I know, I know … it’s us who ride on the wrong side – I thoroughly enjoyed the ride!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 27, 2016 at 12:23 PM

Leave a Reply

