motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

A New Stable Mate.

G’day

You might remember back in early July, The Bar Tender did his motorcycle training with Noel out at Q-Ride Redlands.

Getting his motorcycle licence was something he’d been wanting to do for a very long time; I guess it was inevitable seeing as he has been exposed to bikes all of his life.

If you’d like to refresh your memory, you can re-read the post I wrote about that momentous occasion here <link> 

Anyway… after he got his RE (Restricted) motorcycle licence endorsement, he was like a bloke on fire: He couldn’t wait to get on two wheels.

He spent every waking minute searching Bike Sales, visiting bike shops and learning all he could about bikes.

One of the drawbacks (or rather, blessings) in starting out on an RE endorsement is that he is not allowed to ride bikes bigger than 650cc.

This depends on the power to weight ratio of the bike too, so bikes like the Yamaha R6 or Honda CBR 600 are out of the question, but the Yamaha FZ6n or Suzuki SV650 (current model) for example, are OK.

Unfortunately because the RE market is a captive market, most of the bikes available to them are well and truly overpriced.

I mean, when you can pick up a tidy Kawasaki ZZR-1100 for around $3500 – $4500(AU) but can only find neglected Suzuki GS-500’s or similar bikes for the same price, it speaks volumes about the opportunistic traits of some sellers when it comes to new riders.

This being the case, it looked like he was going to have to spend $4500 – $6000 to get a decent bike.

Image Credit kawasakininja300.com Forum

Image Credit kawasakininja300.com Forum

It took a bit of doing, but The Pillion and I managed to persuade him to save his money and pay cash, rather than take out a loan.

The main reason being that he is a casual employee and could be laid off at any time. If he had a loan and missed a payment or two, there was a real chance he could lose the bike.

At least if he paid cash he owned the bike.

Another thing I suggested to him was that he should consider steering clear of bikes with fairings, and if he can manage it, get some Oggy Knobs (frame sliders).

We quarreled about the fairing thing until he saw the difference in insurance premiums.

Chalk one up for Dad eh? 🙂

Having to wait an extra 2-1/2 months instead of going for instant gratification really sucked for him because even though he was the first one out of his mates to get his RE licence, he will be one of the last to own a bike.

Some of his mates paid out on him for that. They also gave him grief because he took our advice and steered clear of faired bikes and that he was going to install Oggy Knobs.

I can’t tell you how many times The Squid, who took out at $4500 loan for his fully fared bike, razed him about that. Karma caught up with him though, when he dropped his bike in his driveway.

I think you know why I’ve called him The Squid: Karma will catch up with him on that too, sadly.

Yes its a Honda

Yes, It’s A Honda

So without further ado, allow me to introduce you to Blueys’ new stable mate: ‘Fee’.

Fee’ won out against a black Yamaha FZ6n and a white Suzuki GS-500, both of which were fine bikes in their own right. But I gotta say, this little Honda is a really nice bike to ride, albeit a little cramped for my exaggerated frame.

Yes Its A 400

Yes, It’s A CB400

There are no bells and whistles. No ABS or traction control. Nothing fancy at all. Just a simple, easy to ride machine that will ease him into riding without too much unnecessary scariness.

Which is good in a way, because The Bar Tender will learn to respect braking, and handling, like you and I did.

The only difference being that ‘Fee’ handles and stops waaaay better than my old Honda CB750-4 (K2) and probably older bikes you an I have ridden over the years.

Hey Bar Tender, Can I Fee Out for the Day?

Hey Bar Tender, Can I ‘Fee’ Out for the Day?

Now that The Bar Tender has his new wheels, I’m sure The Pillion is going to be a little on edge every time he throws a leg over ‘Fee’; and if I’m honest, I will be too.

I’ve already had the “Don’t bow down to peer pressure” and “Don’t get cocky” talk with him.

I’m pretty sure he is allergic to pain, so I reckon that talk had some influence. He has a lot to learn over the coming months that’s for sure.

Stable Mates

Stable Mates

Needless to say, our little single car garage is a little less roomy now that ‘Bluey’ has a new stable mate.

It’s all good though, she’s been pining for some company.

Cheers.


Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

28 responses

  1. Bob

    Nice looking little Honda. Good to have another “Honda man” on two wheels. He’ll appreciate the reliability and low maintenance of it too. Happy wallet!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 28, 2016 at 12:53 AM

    • Thanks Bob.

      I think he made a good choice with the Honda, it’s an easy bike to ride and has been well looked after.

      As long as he keeps the maintenance up to it and doesn’t mistreat it I think it will serve him well

      Like

      September 28, 2016 at 9:09 AM

  2. Happy Bike Day to him! That looks like a perfect first bike. Glad he took your advice on no fairing. It will get dropped and he will appreciate not having plastics to scratch.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 28, 2016 at 6:37 AM

    • Thank you!

      Funny you mention that, about dropping the bike. I said the same thing to the Squid and he said “Nah, no way”.

      Less than a week later his Ninja went to sleep in the driveway

      Liked by 1 person

      September 28, 2016 at 9:11 AM

  3. Sounds like The Bar Tender has a great role model!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 28, 2016 at 7:38 AM

  4. Good stuff! Fantastic that you convinced to wait and also to pick a good “learners” bike. I really hope that he continues to listen to the voice of experience and that all of his lessons are learnt the easy way.

    Is he going to take up blogging?

    Liked by 1 person

    September 28, 2016 at 4:22 PM

    • Blogging? Nah not likely 🙂

      I think between work, TAFE and having fun he doesn’t have much time left

      Like

      September 28, 2016 at 4:51 PM

    • The Bartender

      Never know may do or may not depending on time i get

      Like

      October 3, 2016 at 9:15 PM

  5. Good choice. They’re a great bike even for non restricted riders. As for fairings, one of my previous 250cc bikes blew over in the drive way during a strong windy period! I was glad not to have any plastics on that thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 29, 2016 at 10:05 AM

    • Yep had that happen to me once.

      Had a storm blow through at a place I was working at and the GPz-1000RX I had at the time was rocking off the side stand.

      I got to it before it blew over but the retaining bolt for the side stand broke… lucky I had a centre stand and the bolt was cheap compared to what could have happened if the bike went over

      Thanks for commenting

      Like

      September 29, 2016 at 10:11 AM

  6. Congrats to the Bar Tender – Here’s a little something I found on the net to wish him well.

    May the sun rise in front of me. May the rain fall behind me and the wind follow me.

    May the angels of my brothers and sisters who have gone before me guard my travels, for they know the perils of the road ahead of me.

    Keep me safe through the rough city streets on my way to the land of the swirling turns and rolling hills.

    Let the turning colours of fall keep me warm. Let the eagle guide me to the mountain tops. Let the Moon’s light guide me through the night.

    May my tires not fail me, nor my engine grow old. May my bike draw life from the streams I pass.

    Keep my seat soft and my mind sharp. Let the air of spring breathe life into my soul, to journey to another adventure beside my brothers and sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 29, 2016 at 1:14 PM

    • The Bartender

      Cheers mate

      Liked by 2 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:32 AM

    • Thats a lovley blessing Kristin. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      October 3, 2016 at 9:47 AM

      • You’re welcome. MMs son has just got his bike licence. Knowing how crazy it can be out on the streets we cross our fingers & hope for the best. (& pay for as many riding courses as we can talk him into taking) 😃

        Like

        October 3, 2016 at 10:04 AM

  7. Congrats to the Bar Tender on the new ride and to his parents for the guidance! I look forward to hearing about your rides together. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    October 3, 2016 at 3:35 AM

    • Mee too. I wonder if I can get him to guest Post? 😉

      Liked by 2 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:38 AM

    • The Bartender

      Thank you. Will be a while yet till that happens need to get the riding experience first

      Liked by 3 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:40 AM

      • You’re doing it the right way…here’s to many happy miles!

        Like

        October 3, 2016 at 12:33 PM

  8. Hey-hey!… Send my congrats to The Bar Tender. You gave him some excellent advice (I’m a firm believer in the no-loans-for-“toys” practice), and y’all must have done a fine job raising him that he actually–though maybe reluctantly–took that advice.

    Happy roads ahead for you and yours, Ghost!

    Liked by 2 people

    October 3, 2016 at 5:42 AM

    • The Bartender

      Cheers for that and nope took the advice with open mind

      Liked by 3 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:36 AM

    • Thanks Ry.

      Yeah. I’m not a big fan of debt either. Sadly sometimes you can’t avoid it.

      Liked by 2 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:40 AM

  9. LB

    The fairing I get.
    Oggy Knobs?
    I’ll be off to google in a bit.
    In the meantime, congrats to your boy! and to you, Dad.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 3, 2016 at 8:18 AM

    • The Bartender

      They are also known as frame sliders. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      October 3, 2016 at 9:34 AM

    • Thanks Laurie. I’m really looking forward to our first ride together an eventually… Maybe… The other two as well

      Liked by 2 people

      October 3, 2016 at 9:37 AM

  10. CB400s are fantastic (and relatively bulletproof bikes) and I’ve known of several people who have continued on with them after their restrictions because they’re so easy going yet powerful enough to have some fun on and not be hampered by traffic. Happy days for the Bar Tender!

    Like

    October 6, 2016 at 9:36 AM

  11. Pingback: Just Quietly. I’m Enjoying The Attention. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

