motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

It Damned Near Killed Me!

G’day

When you’re young, you can’t wait until you’re a teenager so you can do all the big kid stuff.

When you’re a teenager, you can’t wait to be 18 so you can experience night clubs, cars and all the other freedoms grown ups get.

Somewhere along the way you end up married with a couple of clones running around.

Then for around 20 years you spend every waking minute making sure they’re all healthy and have everything they need; and like most parents, you strive to give them that bit extra if you can manage it.

Just quietly I reckon these are the best years; hard at times, sure, but I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

Eventually the clones become self-aware and self-reliant (sounds like a Terminator doesn’t it). This allows you to get back to doing some of the things you once did as your younger self.

Such is the case with The Pillion and I.

We’ve done more day trips, more road trips and more us time in the last 3  years than we’ve done in our whole married life.

Sadly, even though my inner self is a young and stoopid 21-year-old, my body insists otherwise. Take our trip to Rainbow Beach for example.

Rainbow Beacg

The Only Stretch Of Sand That’s Patrolled Is Near The Rainbow Beach Township

We did some exploring while we were there and we ended up walking along a bush track to a place called Carlo Sandblow. So named by Captain Cook after one of his deck hands of all things.

It’s about 600m (1950 feet) from the parking area to the sandblow. Nothing too strenuous, a few steps maybe, but mostly easy-going.

Carlo Sandblow covers around 15Ha (37 acres) and is one of the few places where you can watch geology at work. On shore winds break through the vegetation and pick up grains of sand, blowing them inland.

Over thousands of years of sandblow development, plants eventually recolonise and stabilise the exposed sands. This continues over and over and eventually the layers settle into what is known as coffee rock.

The coffee rock is eventually exposed by new sand blows as rainbow coloured cliffs. This is how Rainbow Beach got its name.

Pretty cool eh?

Track To Carlo Sandblow

Track To Carlo Sandblow

Now, I’ve seen sand before but I’ve never seen a sandblow. So, being the sticky beak that I am, I left The Pillion sitting on a park bench at the edge of the blow and headed west for 100m (330 feet) or so to see what I could see.

The sand was soft but reasonably flat and easy to walk on. So all was good.

After taking in the view over the national park and back into the township of Rainbow Beach, I about faced and headed east past The Pillion towards the Pacific Ocean.

As I walked, I didn’t notice the sandblow tapered down slightly towards the beach.

Carlo Sandblow

Carlo Sandblow

Eventually I reached a point where the sandblow dropped away sharply towards the edge of the coffee rock cliffs. I guess it was maybe 40m (130 feet) from the top of the sandblow to the cliff edge.

There are warning signs all over the place telling you not to get too close to the edge because the cliffs can be unstable and may break away at any time.

Apparently its quite a drop down to the beach below and allegedly “You can be injured”.

“Meh… It’s not the fall that kills you, it’s the sudden stop at the end.” Stoopid 21-year-old inner self thought.

So off I trundled down the sandblow.

Rainbow Beach Looking South

Rainbow Beach Looking South

I reached the edge of the cliff face and found a rocky outcrop to sit on so I could take in the views to the north and south.

As I sat there, I glanced up at where I had just come from…

… At this point, you’re probably thinking the cliff edge gave way and I had a pucker moment.

Nope, I’m happy to report no such thing happened.

What happened was that I saw a mountain of sand. A mountain I had to walk back up to get back to where The Pillion was waiting for me.

This is where this post gets its name. This was the point where my stoopid 21-year-old inner self said “You silly old bastard, what were you thinking!”

It took me more than twice as long to head back up that sandblow than it did to come down it, and I had to stop no less than 6 times for a rest.

By the time I reached the top I was gasping for breath and my mouth was dry as the Simpson Desert because I didn’t take any water with me. I’ve never felt so spent in all my life.

I tel ya, that sandblow… It damned near killed me!

What me exaggerate?

Never 😉

Cheers


Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

damnneerkilledme010

12 responses

  1. It seemed like a good idea at the time… Is to blame for a lot of stuff 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    September 7, 2016 at 8:42 AM

  2. I’ve got the same sort of body, blasted thing won’t do as it did 40 years ago!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 8, 2016 at 3:39 AM

    • I Wonder if we can get reconditioned…. Like motor vehicles and engines and such? 😆

      Liked by 2 people

      September 8, 2016 at 6:52 AM

      • That’s quite a good idea, I would definitely rebuild any machine that had dropped off in performance like my legs have!!!! 😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

        September 8, 2016 at 7:05 AM

  3. Bob

    Here in the Southern U.S., it usually starts with “watch this y’all”. Then shit happens……….

    Liked by 2 people

    September 8, 2016 at 9:29 AM

  4. I chuckled the whole read through, Ghost. 🙂

    (I’m now on a mission to make “sticky-beak” common in the American lexicon.)

    Liked by 1 person

    September 8, 2016 at 2:34 PM

    • Ah yes. The Australian vernacular is entertaining isn’t it?

      If you have a gander at the urban dictionary for Aussie slang there are quite a few pearlers in there 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      September 8, 2016 at 2:40 PM

  5. Haha Loved this post, more so cos I’ve done this myself at Carlo Sandbllow. Yep, I can totally relate. We went there a couple of years ago and silly me, thinking I was still 21 inside (just like you) trudged ahead and then had to forge back up the huge dune. Fun times though.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 13, 2016 at 3:22 PM

    • Its all good to gung-ho and give it a shot – even if you struggle.

      The trick is to look all relaxed and cool, all the while feeling your heart trying to escape trough your rib cage and your lungs doing their best steam locomotive impersonation

      Now that’s talent 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      September 13, 2016 at 7:54 PM

      • Oh, absolutely. You described it perfectly. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        September 13, 2016 at 8:42 PM

Leave a Reply

