motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Mooball Roadhouse.

G’day

When you’re out on a ride, you inevitably end up at a pub or café/ restaurant some place where you can relax for a bit before hitting the road again and continue your journey.

Some of these places have live music, like the Hotel Brunswick, while others, like the Tumbulgum Tavern have nice views of a river, beach or valley.

Mooball is nothing like that, it has neither a live band, nor a nice view: It does lie on one of the best riding roads in the area though, the Tweed Valley Way, which crosses the Burringbar Range.

This in itself is worth the visit.

Moo Moo Roadhouse

Moo Moo Roadhouse

As most small towns go, the locals have had to find ways of enticing passing traffic to stop and look around. It’s obvious they have a wicked sense of humour too, because they’ve played with the town name and embraced… err… cows.

I mean how many towns do you know of where all the locals get together and paint buildings, telegraph poles, kids play equipment and anything else they can lay their hands on, to resemble Friesian cows?

It’s black and white everywhere you look!

The Biggest Yamaha TZ750 I've Ever Seen

The Biggest Yamaha YZR500 I’ve Ever Seen

The town is also the home of the biggest Yamaha YZR500 I’ve ever seen.

The replica has been modeled after the bike Wayne Rainey raced in 1993 and stands 2m (8 feet) high to the seat.

Ok, so you can’t ride it but it is impressive.

It lives right across the road from the Moo Moo Roadhouse right on the main drag through town.

Golden Fleece. That's A Name You Don't See On The Australian Motoring Landscape Anymore

Golden Fleece. That’s A Name You Don’t See On The Australian Motoring Landscape Anymore

The Moo Moo isn’t real flash to look at, it’s not meant to be.

It’s been geared towards bikers and hot-rod enthusiasts, and has a real retro feel to it.

Inside the Roadhouse there are displays of vintage and classic motorcycles and motoring memorabilia, right down to an old Golden Fleece petrol pump.

I haven’t seen a Golden Fleece petrol station since the mid ’80’s: It was at the top of Bulli Pass* near Woolongong* NSW as I recall.

Anyone else remember that one?

It’s funny because when I was a young bloke – oh, maybe two or three years ago now – I always used to wonder why they called it Golden Fleece.

Was it because they took their name from Greek mythology, or was it because they charged so much for their fuel?

Either way, the company was swallowed up by Caltex in 1981 and the famous Golden Fleece Ram logo disappeared from the Australian landscape forever soon after.

Mooball105

I Can Relate To The Sign At The Top

 Kawasaki H2 Mach IV 750

Kawasaki H2 Mach IV 750

The Roadhouse has the usual selection of soft drinks and ice creams, but it’s not until you look at the menu that you realise just how biker centric this place is, with burgers and other meals named after bike brands and models.

There’s a selection of burgers and chips, meat pies, sandwiches and even salads on offer for the health conscious.

Mooball110

Too Much For This Little Black Duck.

To be honest I prefer to eat light when I’m out riding. Heavy meals like burgers and such tend to make me drowsy. If I’m a passenger though; show me the steak menu and what was that sauce?

Mushroom?

Yes please.

Alas, on this occasion I ordered a Caesar salad. My nutritionist would be pleased…

Most places you got to for a meal give you just enough on your plate to stir the worms in your belly, and charge you an arm and a leg for the privilege.

This wasn’t the case with the salad I’d ordered. It was huge. I had trouble finishing it.

Belly Tank Racer

Belly Tank Racer

Mooball107

Grow Old Disgracefully – Great Motto

The Roadhouse is right next door to the old Mooball Speed shop where most of the bikes and cars are on display. There’s even a belly tank racer in the mix, something I’d never seen up close before.

Just quietly I kinda like the logo on the side of the thing.

Who says you have to grow old gracefully 😉

Cheers

  • Bulli Pass: Pronounced Bull-eye
  • Woolongong: Pronounced… er… like this

Psst… wanna see more posts like this?
Head on up to the top right of this page and hit subscribe via email to get new posts as they come out.

Hey! Can I Borrow Your One Tonner Mate?

Hey! Can I Borrow Your One Tonner Mate?

Mooball103

I Still Reckon Its Not GTS Monaro If It’s Got More Than Two Doors

12 responses

  1. Nice that there was some decent machinery to look at while they cooked your salad!

    I like that Born to ride poster too.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 10, 2016 at 4:43 PM

    • The old Holdens took me back – Owned a HQ Monaro 2 door for a while – be worth a fortune now

      Like

      August 11, 2016 at 8:29 AM

  2. Oh that’s brought back memories! I went there many years ago on a road trip, just stumbled across it on our travels. There’s a sign somewhere near the toilets that says “I did a wee wee at the moo moo!”

    Liked by 2 people

    August 10, 2016 at 7:46 PM

    • Didn’t see that sign (didn’t go to the loo while I was there)

      I’ll go back again just for the atmosphere

      Like

      August 11, 2016 at 8:31 AM

  3. I like that it has an eclectic mix of two and four wheeled items to wander around and check out. Food looks tasty too.

    I have heard when traveling to stay away from fatty foods as they will make you drowsy, hence burgers and chips making you want a snooze.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2016 at 5:01 AM

    • Heavy meals get me every time.

      I tend to eat light while travelling, but as soon as happy hour comes along, I’m into the food and the refreshments. Because by that time of day you’ve parked up for the night

      Like

      August 11, 2016 at 8:34 AM

  4. Any roadhouse with motorbiking paraphernalia in house or nearby is aaallright in my book.

    I don’t know what it is, but I tend to lose my appetite when I’m out riding, whether just for the day or for a long weekend (which is bad, I know). Yet once I return home or settle in somewhere for a stay, my hunger usually returns with a vengeance… “Yeah, it’s just me eating all this. You got a problem with that?!”

    Liked by 1 person

    August 13, 2016 at 12:16 PM

    • The are a few motorcycle themed cafes within cooee of Brisbane. All are pretty good too

      Must be an age thing. I have to eat while on the road, but eat light.

      Like you though I indulge once I’m pulled up for the night

      Liked by 1 person

      August 15, 2016 at 8:33 PM

  5. LB

    Looks like a fun place to visit, and yes, while we ride for the journey, we also ride for the food and drink!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 15, 2016 at 2:20 AM

    • Best part is there are so many different roads you can follow to get there.

      Sometimes the company you meet can make a place too. Not just the food…. But that’s an important ingredient 😉

      Like

      August 15, 2016 at 8:36 PM

  6. Pingback: eBook: Ballina Base Motorcycle Touring Guide | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

  7. Pingback: I’ve Been Lookin’ For You Everywhere | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

