motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Travelling Companions.

G’day

I was going to write a blow-by-blow account of our vacation, but decided against it.

Why?

I dunno, poor memory maybe. The result of too many happy hours no doubt.

Maybe its a because of that unwritten rule of what happens on the road, stays on the road, or, just maybe, because there were a lot of miles covered each day that were, well, uneventful.

Even though I may not give you a blow-by-blow account of our vacation, you can rest assured I will share some of the highlights here in future posts.

travellingcompanions001

Rest Stop and Refuel – Wawrick QLD

Before I do that, I’d like to acknowledge my travelling companions. Some probably read this blog, but more than likely don’t know who the author is.

In all there were 14 of us on 8 bikes: Norman & Orphan, Squeak & Dazzler, Killa & Bus Driver, Bunny & The Pom, Psstop & Noddy, Jewels & Flyby, The Pillion and myself.

Yes, these are road names, and there’s a story behind each and every one of them. Stories that had us in fits of laughter, to the point of tears in some cases, and you guessed it, The Pillion and I were “awarded” road names as well.

Stretch and Speedo.

travellingcompanions002

The Newel Highway – South Of West Wyalong NSW

We’ve known all of these people for about four years and have been riding on and off with them for a similar length of time, mostly on day trips around South East Queensland.

It’s not until you spend time in each others pockets that you really get to know each other though, and I have to admit, I wasn’t sure The Pillion and I would jell as well as we’d have liked.

After all, they are a close-knit bunch who regularly ride cross-country together. Over the years they have covered hundreds of thousands of kilometres; and that’s no exaggeration, its fact.

Because of this, I was apprehensive and wasn’t sure we’d be a good fit. It wasn’t until Flyby sat with me one afternoon and asked if we were comfortable with the group dynamic and personalities.

I knew the question would come up at some point, and I immediately I thought about the broken top box mounting plate, the times we were a little slow saddling up and the effect it was having on the group.

I responded with: “To be honest, we can see how close you all are and know that at times, you’ve been patient with us. But we haven’t had this much fun in ages. You’ve shown us how to travel quickly, efficiently and safely on two wheels without sacrificing sanity or enjoyment.”

I finished with: “I think the question should be, how do you think we fit in?”

I braced myself expecting the worst: His response was to the point and honest. “You’re doing OK, you’re picking up the rhythm pretty quick, we’d ride with you again.”

With that, Flyby headed back in to the cabin we were staying in and left me alone to watch the sun setting over the harbour.

Houston, We Have Liftoff!

Houston, We Have Liftoff!

On a personal level, our riding companions taught me how to laugh at myself again and not take life to seriously.  There are several photos of me actually smiling, something that has eluded me for a long time.

A rarity indeed.

I guess the reason for that is because after not having a decent vacation for so long, I just forgot how to enjoy myself and cut loose once in a while.

You have to cut loose once in a while, its good for the soul.

Dawn - Port of Melbourne VIC

Dawn – Port of Melbourne VIC.

The Pillion and I traveled with our riding companions for about 3 weeks before some broke off and headed home to Queensland, back to work and real life.

In our case we continued on our vacation, returning to mainland Australia (The North Island) and spent the next 3-1/2 weeks meandering our way north to Brisbane via Country Victoria and New South Wales.

We spent about a week in Victoria and managed to annoy the heck out of some dear friends in Melbourne who we hadn’t seen in probably five years or more.

Three nights in a row the girls slept while The Borg and I shot the breeze till the small hours of the morning. Man it was good to catch up after so long.

We saw family in both Cooma and Sydney and caught up with another dear friend and his partner at their home just north of Newcastle.

I know he and Mudguts read this blog from time to time and I’m putting it out there to both of them that it would be great to get the three of us in the same room again.

Something we haven’t done in nearly 30 years.

We met other travelers along the way too, they were easy to talk to and share a laugh with and they shared some of their experiences with us as well.

They, like us, were so relaxed. I guess travel does that to you.

We’re indebted to all of these people, every one of them. If it wasn’t for their friendship, hospitality and at times help, I doubt we’d have had such a good time.

Cheers

Wanna see more posts like this? 
Head on up to the top right of this page and in the side bar hit subscribe.

The Great Lakes TAS

The Great Lakes – Midlands TAS

12 responses

  1. This is exactly what travel is all about! Cheers, and so glad it was so wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 13, 2016 at 2:04 AM

    • I’ve come to the conclusion that travel is like a drug. The more you have, the more you want πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      April 13, 2016 at 9:17 PM

      • Absolutely, but it is the splurge that you will never regret! πŸ™‚

        Like

        April 14, 2016 at 12:09 AM

  2. I am glad you two enjoy yourself so much. There is no rule that says you have to give a play by play of each day. I know i enjoy seeing the various pictures from your travel.

    I didn’t realize you went with such a big group. Good to know you adjusted so well. I am sure there are a few stories behind your new road names. Maybe those tales are better left unsaid, you know, to protect the innocent. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    April 13, 2016 at 5:05 AM

    • No innocents here Brandy πŸ™‚ Their motto makes that abundantly clear “Grow Old Disgracefully” πŸ™‚

      Like

      April 13, 2016 at 9:16 PM

  3. Tony

    The better half and myself were glad you and the pillion came to stay. It was our pleasure to have you both stay here and glad you could squeeze the extra day in too. some extra time to shoot that breeze ( had a few years to catch up on) glad the road treated you well and old blue didn’t let you down

    Liked by 1 person

    April 13, 2016 at 8:24 PM

  4. Thanks Tony, The door is open for both of you if/ when you decide to head north some time in the future. I hope you enjoy the… ahem… “slide show” I sent you πŸ˜‰

    Like

    April 13, 2016 at 9:20 PM

  5. Great summary, Ghost! I’m happy for y’all that you had such a fabulous time and that the mounting plate issue ended up being a mere footnote (I’m sure I wasn’t the only one worried for you). To echo Lynne, it sounds like you had the perfect travel experience.

    No doubt you and The Pillion are already contemplating your next adventure. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    April 14, 2016 at 1:18 AM

    • Thanks Ry, yes it did go well. Our next local trip might be South Australia, still mulling that one over.

      That is of course unless we win Lotto.

      In which case we will bring our long term plan forward and head off to North America and Canada

      Liked by 1 person

      April 25, 2016 at 10:43 PM

  6. LB

    What a super post! Possibly one of my favorites of yours.
    I was captivated by your conversation with Flyby, and hoping that it would end on the good note that it did.
    And to read of your smiling and relaxation … lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 19, 2016 at 11:21 AM

  7. Great post, sorry it’s taken me so long to get around to reading it!
    I totally get where you are and I’m now slightly cursing because you have reminded me how much I need to do some serious trip miles; I thought I was just getting grumpy naturally, but now I realise that I need to reset my sense of reality!
    Road trip friends and memories are the best kind to have.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 13, 2016 at 7:28 AM

    • Yes they are and (personally) I find that a ride, even a short one, can ground you and wash away your worries like nothing else.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 18, 2016 at 2:11 PM

Leave a Reply

