motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

My Home Town.

G’day

This past week has been a bit nostalgic for me.

I’ve spent the Easter break back in my home town revisiting old haunts and catching up with people I haven’t seen in a very long time.

The most important person though, has been my Mum.

image

image

Every time I visit my home town, there’s something different in the neighbourhood; new road markings, new proprietors at one of the local shops, an old house demolished with a block of flats in its place.

Something.

image

image

One thing that stays constant though, is the house I grew up in.

Mum has done her best to keep it all together since Dads passing, and I’m proud of her for being so strong and managing so well these past few years.

She has some great neighbours surrounding her too, people I grew up with. Most have been here for more than 50 years and they all look out for each other.

image

image

image

There is a real sense of community, even though the neighbourhood is in constant change.

Sometimes I can’t help thinking back to “the good old days”

image

image

image

Mrs “H” and her sandwiches with home made chutney. Messing around on Mr “G’s” old Bedford flat bed truck.

Getting into strife for setting fire to Mrs “W’s” shade house after a wayward sky-rocket found its way onto it’s roof.

Climbing trees, the Tarzan swing at the local creek, walking the railway line to school.

The list goes on.

Sadly by the time you read this I’ll be on my way home to Brisbane, to my kids, my neighbours. Back to work.

Believe me when I say leaving will be bitter-sweet.

Cheers.
Wanna see more posts like this? 
Head on up to the top right of this page and in the side bar hit subscribe.

image

15 responses

  1. Lovely. Such a nostalgic post and one that I can relate to as I used to love going home to my hometown where mum once lived. So many memories.

    Like

    March 31, 2016 at 9:49 PM

    • True. Some say home is where you hang your hat, but its hard to shake the memories form your childhood

      Liked by 1 person

      April 6, 2016 at 9:24 PM

      • Of course it is. A part of us will always live there.

        Liked by 1 person

        April 6, 2016 at 9:26 PM

  2. It is nice you could include your hometown in your tour. I bet your mum was happy to see you.

    That brick wall with the hedge behind it is really cool. You don’t see those anymore.

    Like

    April 2, 2016 at 1:09 AM

    • Yeah, Mum was pretty chuffed when I told her we’d be stopping in for a week or so. That brisk wall and hedge has a story behind it… or at least the family that used to live there does.

      Like

      April 6, 2016 at 9:26 PM

  3. They always say you can never go back. That’s too true.

    Like

    April 4, 2016 at 12:47 PM

    • I don’t know that I’d want to really. Its a nice place to visit but I don’t think I’d fit in any more

      Liked by 1 person

      April 6, 2016 at 9:27 PM

  4. Awe, nice post. Funny how the memories come flooding back once that gate has been opened. Safe trip home.

    Like

    April 4, 2016 at 6:46 PM

  5. Nice to go down memory lane with you!

    Glad you had a good visit with your mum!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 6, 2016 at 6:32 AM

    • I don’t get to see her as much as I’d like, distance and all that. I’m going to try and see her more often this year if I can even if I have to fly down to see her

      Liked by 3 people

      April 6, 2016 at 9:30 PM

  6. LB

    I’m so glad you were able to spend time with your Mom. As a mom myself, I know how great it is to see your son whenever possible (mine is 30 yrs and lives about 6 hours away). How far away is she from your current home?
    I enjoyed reading your memories of home and seeing your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 11, 2016 at 8:09 AM

    • Thanks Laurie. Mum is about 1000km (600 miles) away. I usually drive down with the family unless I’m in Sydney for work. I always try to schedule those trips early or late in the week so I can include a weekend. Sadly.. There haven’t been and work trips of late so the trips down have been far between.
      Thanks for commenting

      Liked by 1 person

      April 11, 2016 at 8:13 AM

  7. Pingback: Goodbye, Farewell, Thanks For The Memories. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

