motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Zero.

G’day

First off, I’d like to apologise for some double posts you may have been receiving in recent weeks.

As I alluded to in a previous post, I’ve bought myself a Tablety/ iPady thing for our trip away, and I’ve been learning how to drive it, using the last couple of posts as test beds.

One limitation that I’ve noticed was that if you use the App to draft the post and then schedule it, all is good. BUT! If you then make some quick mods on a computer or laptop and don’t sync the app with the new computer version, you end up with double posts.

This shouldn’t be a problem once we’re under way, because I wont have access to a computer. If it does happen again, please accept my apology in advance.

Zero

Not Going To Get Far On An Empty Tank Of Fuel Am I?

So, what’s the plan for this week?

Well, in a little over 24 hours, The Pillion and I will be on our way south to Melbourne, Victoria.

On the first leg of our trip, we will cover about 1760km (1100 miles). This will take about three days of easy riding mostly on country roads.

Once we get to Melbourne, we put the floaties on Bluey and do the final 455km (283 mile) leg across Bass Strait aboard the Spirit Of Tasmania.

A cruise: I’ve never been on one of those before; unless of course, you count the ferry ride from Circular Quay to Taronga Zoo across Sydney Harbour.

Packed and ready to go 002

The journey across Bass Strait will take around 9 hours, and from all reports its’ quite a pleasant and relaxing crossing. There’s plenty to do on board too: A cinema, board games, bars, sleep and a multitude of other things too apparently.

One thing about the crossing I didn’t expect though, was the tough quarantine laws.

You can’t take anything over from the mainland, even though Tasmania is the southern most state of Australia. No jams, fruit, food of any kind, nothing.

They even let the air out of your tyres and replace it with pre-bottled Tasmanian air (Nitrogen filled are OK). It’s a precaution just in case you get a flat while your touring around the island; something about cross contamination and the ecosystem.

Once we arrive in Tasmania, we’ll spend three weeks riding on the island state before we head back to Devonport ready for our voyage back to the mainland. Once on the mainland, we’ll spend another three weeks meandering west then east the north back to Brisbane via Sydney.

As you ca see from the first photo, I’ve set the trip odo to zero.

I wonder how many kilometres well manage to rack up while we are away?

Yes, I know I need to fill up before we leave 😉

Cheers.

Wanna see more posts like this? 
Head on up to the top right of this page and in the side bar hit subscribe.

Packed and ready to go 001

14 responses

  1. So exciting! Can’t wait to see how your tablet and WP play for you. Last year I had fits with mine and haven’t gotten the nerve to try again…

    Liked by 1 person

    February 17, 2016 at 7:40 AM

    • Other than the double posts is been good so far, although I have tweaked the posts on my computer before sending them out.
      If the tablet is a fail I will always have the phone 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      February 17, 2016 at 8:03 AM

      • My issue was with not being able to access photos, which I think was a WP app error. I wish you the best of luck and can’t wait to read about your trip!

        Liked by 1 person

        February 17, 2016 at 10:41 PM

  2. Bob

    Sounds pretty awesome! Interesting thing about Tasmania. Is it an environmental issue. What’s different about the ecosystem there I wonder. Enjoy your final moments of prep and enjoy the trip. Be safe. Stay vertical.

    Liked by 1 person

    February 18, 2016 at 5:52 AM

    • Thanks Bob. Most states of Australia have quarantine gates andnthe re are signs on the NSW QLD border prohibiting the transport of certain fruits. Its a way to try and reduce or stop the spread of disease in the agricultural system. Parts of Tasmania have world heritage listing. Being an island helps protect it from imported pests and diseases. It makes sense when you think about it

      Liked by 1 person

      February 18, 2016 at 7:40 AM

  3. Cheers and Bon Voyage. Hard to believe it is time for the trip already. Looking forward to the reports. Enjoy, you’ve earned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    February 18, 2016 at 7:22 AM

  4. Enjoy the trip and keep the shiny side up!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 18, 2016 at 6:14 PM

  5. OOOh how exciting! Safe travelling.

    Liked by 1 person

    February 18, 2016 at 7:56 PM

  6. LB

    As I read the words “in a little over 24 hours …” I was almost able to feel your excitement! I’m thrilled for you all and cannot wait to follow along.
    Safe travels, and have oh so much fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 22, 2016 at 10:10 AM

  7. Pingback: That’s a Wrap – Three Weeks Just Isn’t Enough. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

