motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

21 Days And Counting.

G’day

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been catching a train to work. I have to admit it’s pretty relaxing just sitting there watching the world go by, not having to worry about the traffic around me or where I’ll be parking for the day.

Travelling on the train, I’ve noticed that nothing has changed too much from when I used public transport last century. The only real difference is we didn’t have electronic gadgets, only newspapers, and instead of iPods we had ghetto blasters and Walkman.

Everyone is just as insulated now as they were back then.

The more things change, the more things stay the same I guess.

So you might be wondering why I’m not riding to work.

Don’t worry nothing has happened, and it certainly isn’t for economic reasons because it costs me three times as much to use public transport, even if you factor in registration, insurance and maintenance on Bluey. Plus it takes me double the amount of time compared to when I’m on the bike.

So why aren’t i riding?

I’m not riding because I’ve been preparing Bluey for our vacation.

She’s had a new set of donuts fitted and brake pads fitted, been serviced and had a safety check done just for piece of mind.

Most of the non-bike related stuff was taken care of last year: Passage across Bass Strait, accommodation and a rough idea of where we’re going… with enough flexibility to change our plans if we need, or want to.

Like I said; We know where we’re going, but not what we’re going to see and do when we get there, so there will still be an element of spontaneity.

Our vacation has been a long time coming, and by that I mean decades, not months or a few years. We will be away from home for around seven weeks and cover some 8000km (5000 miles) give or take.

Just The Pillion, Me and our trusty steed, Bluey.

21 days and counting.

Cheers.

Wanna see more posts like this? 
Head on up to the top right of this page and in the side bar hit subscribe.

21daysandcounting001

17 responses

  1. Counting with you

    Liked by 1 person

    January 27, 2016 at 1:18 AM

  2. The countdown begins……or is that the countdown continues…….

    Taking transit is a small price to pay for prepping for that dream vacation. Looking forward to hearing of your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 27, 2016 at 4:35 AM

    • That’s a certainty. I’ve even gone out and bought *gasp* a tablet for the trip… just got to learn how to drive it πŸ˜‰

      Like

      January 27, 2016 at 10:18 AM

  3. Bob

    That’s a nice, long, getaway. Looking forward to the “trip report.”

    Liked by 1 person

    January 27, 2016 at 10:48 AM

  4. Dang–7 weeks; 5,000 miles; flexibility; and all by motorcycle… I don’t think you could have better ingredients, Ghost.

    I bet that you and The Pillion (and Bluey, of course) can hardly contain your excitement–like kids at Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 27, 2016 at 2:24 PM

  5. How fabulous Adam! Seven weeks, 5000 miles and a million memories! Can’t wait to read all about it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    January 28, 2016 at 7:27 AM

  6. LB

    I’m so excited for you!
    Will you be sharing your adventures as you go along, or waiting until you get back?
    20 years ago, my son and I took a 7 week vacation (after not having had one in 4 years). It was the trip of a lifetime, and I hope yours will be, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 1, 2016 at 1:25 PM

    • I’m going to try and keep to my weekly schedule if I can. I will just need to see how it pans out with internet access, it should be OK most of the time.

      This one is 27 years in the making. It’s the honeymoon we never got πŸ™‚

      Like

      February 1, 2016 at 1:31 PM

      • LB

        Wonderful! That makes it even better! Ride safe and enjoy everything

        Liked by 1 person

        February 1, 2016 at 1:52 PM

      • Congratulations on the honeymoon. We went for a ride in Tassie about 10 years ago cause our daughter got married and they were going to move in with us. They didn’t have the honeymoon but we went away and they could settle in by themselves. It is a fabulous place, the roads are great and the scenery and the people. Have fun and ride safe.

        Liked by 1 person

        February 2, 2016 at 9:18 PM

  7. Omg. You must be excited! Looking forward to your trip reports!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 12, 2016 at 7:06 AM

Leave a Reply

