motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Griffin.

G’day

I haven’t given Bluey a tub in ages.  I could use all the usual excuses like: it rained, or, the sponge was just to heavy, or, I ran out of elbow grease.

The truth is though, I’ve just been lazy… and it rained.

So today I finally extracted the digit and gave Bluey a well deserved bath.

No, I didn’t attack her with a Gerni or Kärcher; although that would have made the job of removing some of the built up grime a little easier… probably would have stripped some paint off too I guess.

Instead I took my time and did the best I could with a sponge, some soft flannel cloths for the Autosol and a bit of effort.

Griffin 002

Of course, I had to take her out and make sure there was no water secreted away some place that might pose a problem later; so we headed of to Griffin, about 10 minutes from my home, for a test ride.

Griffin lies on the north bank of the Pine River, which opens out to Moreton Bay.

It’s a short ride to be true, but one I enjoy, even if it’s just to sit for a while and take in the bay air.

Contrary to what you might think, Griffin was not named after a creature from Greek mythology, but rather the Griffin family who were the first free settlers to the area after migrating to Australia from the Orkney Islands in 1843.

They settled about 28 square miles of land along the banks of Pine River from Moreton Bay to Terror’s Creek at Dayboro then north to the Caboolture River.

Most of the river foreshores have been developed now, but there are still pockets of land haven’t been spoiled by progress, like the area at the eastern most end of Dohles Rocks Road (Griffin).

This area has a smattering of residential housing, a boat ramp and park with BBQ facilities and is still relatively untouched, while the southern side of the river is occupied by the Tinchi Tamba Wetlands ReserveSo if you are one of the fortunate people to live on the north side of the river, your view will never be built out. 

Just as well too, because people need places like this. Places that are relatively close to home and that won’t ever be built out.

I suppose progress will eventually catch up with the area, but until then it’s a nice place to go and take in the bay breeze while contemplating your navel.

Cheers

Griffin 003

4 responses

  1. How good of you to give your bike a bath. I think most of the time the only bath mine sees is when it rains. It has been raining a lot lately, maybe it is time for its bath too. Good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 19, 2015 at 6:27 AM

    • I should do it more often. A do try and at least clean the chain once a month (about every 1600 km – 100 miles) but even that suffers sometimes

      Like

      November 19, 2015 at 7:30 AM

  2. I clean my chain every two weeks, but I haven’t given Stallion a bath since I got him last July! Shame on me for that….I need to schedule in a good scrub. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

    November 21, 2015 at 6:18 AM

Leave a Reply

