motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

No One Will Judge You For Reaching Out.

This will be one of the few posts I’ve done that’s not about motorcycling, I’m just not in the right frame of mind to be writing more than a few words at the moment.

Last Friday night I was browsing FacePlant when a post appeared on my news feed; It was by one of my old school mates.

As I read his post, my mind drifted back to our school days. I remembered how he was always messing about, being a larrikin, and getting into trouble for one thing or another.

I remembered one occasion when we were waiting to get on the footy field during one of our Phys Ed lesson. He decided to crash tackle me for giggles.

I felt like I’d been hit by a freight train: I’ll never forget it.

The teacher caught him mid flight and he got into trouble for that too. But he smiled all the way through it, like he always did.

As I read his post I realised all was not well, and sadly, that post was to be his last. He succumbed to his demons later that night by his own hand.

I’m deeply saddened by his passing.


I urge any one of you who might be reading this, to seek professional help if it’s available to you in your area. Or at the very least, pull up a pew and have a chat with one of your mates about your troubles.

No one will judge you for reaching out.

12 responses

  1. I’m with you brother.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 11, 2015 at 12:55 AM

  2. I’m very sorry for the loss of your friend. Prayers for the family…

    Liked by 1 person

    November 11, 2015 at 5:17 AM

  3. Your post is important so people know there is help out there. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 11, 2015 at 10:30 AM

  4. My condolences Adam 😔

    Liked by 1 person

    November 11, 2015 at 11:31 AM

  5. Oh Adam, that one hit me in the ghoulies, I’m choked here.

    No words can express ….my sympathy/empathy? So saddened by your news.

    I’m always here too if you need to chat bro, you know that.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 11, 2015 at 3:03 PM

  6. I never know what to say at such a thing. No one does. It isn’t a failure of words, but of reason: There’s just no answer, no way to make sense of it. A life simply seems too precious to meet such a desperate end. But despair is a powerful demon, a master distorter, a heartless bastard.

    The most we can do is the only thing we can ever do: Once again realize the interconnectedness and importance of our relationships, hope that others realize it too, and hold tight to that for as long as we can. For in the end, the connections we’ve made, the friendships we’ve forged, and the memories we’ve built… Well, it seems that those are all we really have, all that really matters.

    Liked by 2 people

    November 12, 2015 at 11:53 PM

  7. I am so sorry for your loss! Such a good reminder for us all.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 13, 2015 at 3:18 AM

  8. Always to sad to hear of such a thing. I am sorry for the loss of your friend. We’ve had more than one client take their own life over the years and it is never easy.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 13, 2015 at 9:03 AM

  9. I’m sorry to hear about this. It’s true, good advice to seek someone to talk to. I’m not an expert but my experience has been that it’s hard to feel alone when you’re talking to someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 13, 2015 at 2:00 PM

  10. LB

    It’s been so long since I’ve been able to visit and I’m sorry to find your heart broken. I’m so very sorry, Adam.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 16, 2015 at 9:03 AM

  11. Thank you everyone for your comments and kind words. It means a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 17, 2015 at 9:53 PM

  12. Thank you for this…just know, this touched a world of people. Even when there are no words to express or when pen to paper seems to be much more of a task than before, when our feelings overcome our words… Just know…the words you do express, they are heard…they are felt. Again, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    November 22, 2015 at 2:53 AM

Leave a Reply

