motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Twisty Bits.

G’day

You know, I’m lucky to live in a suburb where there are a lot of motorcyclists who know how to ride and I mean ride well.

I’m also lucky to live in a part of the country where the sun shines 300 days a year and the roads beckon you to explore their corners and surrounding scenery.

Last Sunday was one of those days that I had a bit to do around the yard, but wanted; no needed to get out on the bike. It had been a tough week and I had to un-wind.

My neighbour, Mr ‘Busa, must have been feeling the same because at around 08:00 I got a text from him asking if I was keen to head out for a quick ride… Yes I know he lives across the road, but we’re both relics from last century and we need to conserve our energy for more important things.

Fortunately, Mr ‘Busa is one of the riders in the neighbourhood that knows how to ride well, and I’ll freely admit he can out-ride me on any day that ends with a ‘Y”.

Thankfully he doesn’t put me to too much shame when we head out, and keeps things pretty tame.

Dahmongah Lookout Park

Dahmongah Lookout Park

I like watching him ride, I can learn a lot from studying his lines and his technique. He makes tight corners look like a mere formality and never looks like he is pushing the limits. But believe me, if he wanted to, he could leave me in his wake.

At 09:00 we met in the Cul-de-sac and discussed the route we were going to take. I’ve already told you about Mt Tamborine, Beechmont and My Therapist. These destinations by far are my favorite to ride.

Mt Mee Road

Mt Mee Road (Thank You Mr. Google)

There is one closer to home through: The Mt. Mee Road.

This road and part of the D’Aguilar Highway stretches for 57km (35 miles) between Dayboro and Woodford to the north-west and makes up part of a larger ride I do occasionally with Mr ‘Busa.

That larger ride is affectionately referred to as “A trip around the block”, and extends in a loop for some 210km (130 Miles) through Petrie over Mt. Mee, Woodford, Kilcoy via Neurum Road and back over Mt Glorious to Samford and return to Petrie.

Dahmongah Lookout Park

The View From Dahmongah Lookout Park To The East Over Moreton Bay

The plan was to head out through Petrie, over Mt. Mee and on to D’Aguilar where we would turn left and head out to Woodford to feast on a breakfast of champions at CJ’s Pastries: A meat pie and coffee.

The run out and back is about 115 km (71 miles). We guessed that we’d be back by around 13:00 which included a quick stop at a friend’s place to check out his new Viffr (VFR).

Mt. Mee Road can be a technical road and needs to be treated with some respect, with varying road surfaces, blind corners, tourists and occasional livestock. The pol-ice like to patrol the road too, as we discovered twice on our return leg.

We were good boys and didn’t do anything to attract their attention, so they left us alone.

At about half way along the Mt. Mee Road is Dahmongah Lookout Park. Dahmongah is and aboriginal word meaning “flying squirrel” or glider.

The lookout is also known as The Mt. Mee Lookout and has some spectacular panoramic views of both Moreton Bay to the east and the Glass House Mountains to the north.

Most weekends there’s a vending van there that has a selection of beverages and snacks. It’s enough to fill the hole under your nose and give you a chance to rest and take in the view for a while at the covered picnic area.

Although this is a short ride, it’s often enough to blow the cobwebs away and set you up for the rest of the day.

Cheers

6 responses

  1. Ahhh those nice flowing curves a minute into the video are great. I’d much rather be out on the bike than stuck in the office today.

    At 300 days of sunshine I am jealous. You sure live and ride in a beautiful area.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 22, 2015 at 4:19 AM

  2. Yeah, we’re spoiled up here in the sub tropics. But when it rains really hard (like it did today) it’s not much fun.

    Plus. any place is better than an office – or any work place really

    Like

    October 22, 2015 at 6:32 PM

  3. I have enjoyed a bit of a strap along Mt Mee – thankfully there was a power ranger squad out that day that held the attention of the po-po ☺ 300 days of sunshine is surely not including the near daily afternoon storms!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 27, 2015 at 8:19 PM

    • Nope, the storms are just a bonus.

      Funny I always forget to take the soap when I’m riding in summer as I’m guaranteed a shower 😉

      Like

      October 27, 2015 at 8:30 PM

  4. Pingback: Taken For Granted | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

