motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Iluka NSW

G’day

A while ago The Pillion and I took a ride down to Iluka on the North Coast of New South Wales. I thought I’d share some happy snaps with you from that trip.

Iluka lies on the north shore of the Clarence River, about 3 hours south of Brisbane. and about an hour north of Grafton just off the Pacific Highway.

I came here once last century with my mum when was a kid. It hasn’t changed a lot since I then, and is still the same sleepy seaside fishing village.

Iluka Warf

Iluka Warf

It’s one of those places that time forgot and only has a population of around 1700 most of the year. The population does swell a little during the holiday season but not as much a Yamba on the southern side of the Clarence.

Yamba is what you’d call a resort town with high-rise accommodation, restaurants, shops and other amenities, while Iluka is nothing like that.

View From The Ferry (The Mirigini)

View From The Ferry (The Mirigini)

The best part about Yamba is the 45 minute ferry ride back to Iluka where there are very few high-rise unit blocks, no traffic lights, no supermarkets or flash restaurants and only one pub where you can go for a quiet beverage or meal.

The main street does have a row of shops on it where you can grab some takeaway, a newspaper or some trinkets for the relies back home.

Some Of The Locals

Some Of The Locals

 

If you decide to pay the village a visit be warned though, the stores close at random times, it’s all based on the how the fish are biting and if the surf is up.

I’ve often wondered what it would be like to live in a quiet town like this… you know, I reckon if I tried hard enough, I could get used to it.

Cheers

  • Relies (also ‘lations): Relatives/ Relations
13 responses

  1. We talk about how life would be yo live in a resort town, after the crowds have left. I think I could get to like that too.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 9, 2015 at 4:22 AM

  2. We moved to a small, quiet town last year and have no regrets. Life is good!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 9, 2015 at 5:25 AM

    • I live for the day I can do that. But at this point I still need to work so I’m kinda stuck

      Like

      September 9, 2015 at 5:57 PM

      • Well I have a 50 minute commute to my work now, but having the 40 acres in the country is worth it!

        Liked by 1 person

        September 9, 2015 at 10:45 PM

  3. It looks like a beautiful place to spend some time

    I grew up in a village (it wasn’t even classified as a city). There were 1500 people. Small towns are nice and I still prefer them, but unfortunately for work need a larger one. We live in Corvallis – a city of 50,000 residents and half of those are University students. Still too big.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 9, 2015 at 5:43 AM

    • Seems like you have the same problem as me. The need to work to sustain ourselves. .. some day… some day

      Like

      September 9, 2015 at 5:59 PM

  4. Gosh, this post has brought back a flood of memories. Many Christmas holidays were spent camping at Iluka when the kids were young. I love this place & haven’t thought of it in years 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    September 9, 2015 at 10:13 AM

  5. LB

    Love the photos, especially the one from the ferry. I do love taking bike trips that include ferry rides, bridges, and rides along the water’s edge.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 14, 2015 at 4:52 AM

    • Thanks Laurie. Ferries and bridges in the country bring a quietness with them. Almost like a step back in time.

      Like

      September 14, 2015 at 8:07 AM

  6. anthony

    It’s a beautiful place….I lived three years in Yamba and used to love the relaxing ferry ride over to Iluka for lunch at the pub…..seems like an eternity ago, after 4 busy years back up on the Gold Coast I do miss the tranquillity of that area….thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    February 8, 2016 at 8:14 PM

Leave a Reply

