motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

The Real Voyage Of Discovery.

G’day

Last weeks post was a bit brief and didn’t have many pitchers. So as promised, this weeks post will be a little more elaborate.

I thought I’d show you around the B&B The Pillion and I stayed at. It’s a little self-contained one bedroom cottage about half way between Ballina and Lismore New South Wales, not far from the village of Alstonville.

The last time we went down to Alstonville, we took the scenic route through the Gold Coast Hinterland to Murwillumbah then headed west through Uki, on to Lismore, then looped east back to Alstonville.

This time we opted to take the highway south from our home in Brisbane instead.

Our Home Away From Home

Our Home Away From Home

It’s a boring trip, with nothing in the way of curvy road entertainment for a motorcyclist and little visual stimulation for The Pillion… unless of course you like long, wide, flat highways.

One saving grace going the highway route, is that it is a quick trip. We covered the 220km (140 miles) in a little under 3 hours with a stop in the middle: Arriving at about 12:30 on Saturday afternoon.

Curried Prawns & Rice For Her, Beef In Black Bean For Me & A Bottle Of Yellowglen Bella To Wash It Down

Curried Prawns & Rice For Her, Beef In Black Bean For Me & A Bottle Of Yellowglen Bella To Wash It Down

It was 14:00 by the time we were settled and Bluey was unpacked: Not wanting to head out again late in the day, I decided to make the short 10 minute ride back to the village to grab some Chinese and a bottle of something for dinner.

When I got back I put our dinner aside with the intention of re-heating it in the microwave just before sunset. The bottle of something along with a couple of glasses went into the bar fridge and were nicely chilled by the time dinner was served.

Alstonville-011

We’ll Have To Look Into This For Next Time

It had been raining for about two weeks prior to our arrival, so there was a lot of moisture in the ground. It wasn’t boggy or anything, as the soil is well-drained, but you could tell the area had copped a good soaking recently.

The temperature fell pretty quickly once the sun set and even though temperatures got down to around 3°C (37°F) overnight, we didn’t feel it necessary to turn the heaters on. We did fish out some extra blankets while we watched a DVD though.

Bluey Was A Bit Dewey

Bluey Was A Bit Dewey

On Sunday morning we woke to a heavy dew and a light fog over the glen.

Bluey was soaked from the over night dew and I was glad I packed a garbage bag to cover the seat; just in case. Otherwise we might have been riding around with wet bums all day.

By 09:00 Most Of The Fog Had Burned Off

By 09:00 Most Of The Fog Had Burned Off

By 08:30 the sun had burned off most of the fog. It had fined up to a really nice day for riding, and with that, we decided to head into Byron Bay for a poke around… I’ll share those photos with you another time.

Honey Eater In A Native Bottle Brush

Honey Eater In A Native Bottle Brush

On our previous trip we spent a lot of time away from the B&B exploring the local area, returning around dusk each evening. This time was different, we made a point of not going anywhere for a full day; we were there for some R&R.

One Of Our Hosts Horses.

One Of Our Hosts Horses.

When we returned from Byron Bay, The Pillion decided to relax with Danielle Steele and her latest book, while I grabbed the camera and went for a wander around the paddock.

I find I have to force myself to relax sometimes, and this weekend was one of those times. BUT! I was under orders, so I made an effort.

Rosemary In Flower

Rosemary In Flower

Marcel Proust is often paraphrased as writing:

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.

I was reminded of this while watching the goings on around me; the Honey Eater in the Bottle Brush trees, the horses in the paddock.

All of a sudden, I was ashamed of myself. It became clear that I’d become separated from the real world. I had become so accustomed to living in the city with its convenience and fast pace, I’d forgotten how to chill.

So I’ve set myself a goal to appreciate more and rush less.

Cheers.

xAlstonville-020

10 responses

  1. That is some gorgeous country you got there. Hope the chillin’ happens. Great write up.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 15, 2015 at 1:08 AM

  2. Great pictures, and I love the quote….so true. I need to chill more as well, and I find that it usually takes a trip out of the city to be able to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 15, 2015 at 2:11 AM

  3. One of the drawbacks to technology is that we constantly feel the need to go go go.

    Sometimes it is hard to chill and just relax and enjoy the here and now. I am glad you two took time to relax and enjoy nature. It looks like a wonderful place to spend a few days.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 15, 2015 at 5:52 AM

    • You know, I understand now why people go off grid, tree change and all that. My long term goal is to do just that, I just don’t know when it will happen but I have a feeling it will be down that way somewhere.

      Like

      July 15, 2015 at 2:30 PM

  4. Lovely photos and write-up, Ghost, and a damn fine quote. I’ve added it to my collection. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    July 15, 2015 at 2:39 PM

  5. sighs… looks so relaxing. I feel like I’ve just had a mini-holiday reading your post. I read an article – “Stop and smell the roses” may be a cliché, but research suggests it’s sound advice for finding satisfaction in life. Appreciating the meaningful things and people in our lives may play an even larger role in our overall happiness than previously thought. Ref -http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/a_scientific_reason_to_stop_and_smell_the_roses

    Like

    July 17, 2015 at 2:33 PM

  6. Bob

    Finding time to just Be is so important for our well Being, yet difficult to achieve in go,go,go western society. I’m reminded of a great Harley Davidson ad, you may have seen it a few years back, where a guy mowing his lawn says “someday I’ll get a motorcycle.” The ad says “Monday, Tuesday, Wed,. Thurs., Friday, Sat., Sunday. See? No someday.” Hmmmmmm………

    Liked by 1 person

    July 19, 2015 at 7:18 AM

Leave a Reply

