motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Self, Family, Everything Else.

G’day

It’s been a tough couple of weeks for me.

Some joker threw a spanner in the works causing me to burn the midnight oil. This in turn put paid to any plans The Pillion and I had for mirth, merriment and travel.

That’s right, no weekend riding, no spending the day at the beach, nothing.

In spite of said spanner, I did manage to catch up with some of your fine literary and photographic works over the weekend, and there was one post in particular that caught my eye.

It was a piece by Vanessa over at Of Life She Writes. It had nothing to do with motorcycles, photography or travel; instead it was a simple question: What makes you happy?

I’d never really thought about what makes me happy before, I’ve just sort of stumbled along, taking things as they come and tried not to stress too much about stuff.

Thinking about it, there are lots of things that make me happy, these are just a few:

  1. Putting both feet on the ground when I wake up in the morning.
  2. My family.
  3. A crisp spring morning just as the sun comes up.
  4. Riding my motorcycle.
  5. Fond memories from my youth.

At first glance it might appear that I’m selfish putting myself before my family.

Maybe so, but I look at it this way: If I’m no good, then I’m no good to my family. If I’m no good to my family, I’m not going to be any good to anyone else either.

Self, family, everything else.

Once the first two are squared away, everything else is a bonus… that makes me happiest.

So, what makes you happy?

Cheers

Self Family Everything Else

13 responses

  1. What Makes me happy? You put together a pretty good list above. To it I would add fishing and being in the mountains. Sometimes at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 24, 2015 at 4:57 AM

  2. Good post and a great reminder of what is important and makes us happy.

    Life makes me happy. My husband makes me happy. Sunshine, the smell of rain, the simple things. Oh yeah, and motorcycles when I have time to actually ride them.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 24, 2015 at 5:45 AM

    • I think everyone loses touch with what’s important from time to time. We get too caught up in life and forget about actually living

      Like

      June 24, 2015 at 8:26 AM

  3. Ghost, I’m impressed with your list and those on Vanessa’s site: Everything is so modest, so attainable. Well, except for one commenter that mentioned unicorns, but who am I to judge? I ain’t no troll.

    A vigorous ride on pavement or dirt or a mix of the two to a spot where there aren’t many folks, where I can observe nature’s goings-on and photograph its beauties and curiosities or remnants of human activity, and–that evening–a big, grilled salad, some fine hummus with olives and tomatoes and warm pitas, and a cold beer, something medium to dark…

    That makes for a damn happy day for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 24, 2015 at 11:50 PM

    • Solitude can be liberating as can the company of others. Your description of a happy day sound just fine to me Ry.

      Like

      June 25, 2015 at 8:03 AM

  4. Bob

    Every morning I give thanks for the things that make me happy: My wife, my beagles (which are part of my family) and the joy they bring into my life; my passion for my work, for riding motorcycles, and for running trails in the woods; my home, cooking while enjoying a glass of wine, reading moto travel essays, good music……..I could go on. Point is to find what brings one joy in life and be thankful for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 25, 2015 at 7:33 AM

  5. I like your list. Add big sunsets, my dog, good beer and better whiskey.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 25, 2015 at 9:30 AM

  6. Family, the ocean, stars, music and good coffee puts a smile on my dial 🙂

    Like

    June 27, 2015 at 8:20 PM

  7. LB

    Excellent! I often tell my patients that they have to be a little self focused. If we don’t care for ourselves and find what us as individuals happy, then we’ll not be able to manage the multiple roles we play in life (employee, child, spouse, parent, volunteer, etc).

    Liked by 1 person

    June 29, 2015 at 2:33 AM

Leave a Reply

