motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

Lights, Camera, Action!

G’day

Now I’ll be the first to admit it; none of my YouTube clips are going to win me any gongs. Nope, won’t win an Oscar, or a BAFTA, not even a Logie.

What’s that… a Logie?

A Logie? A Logie is something you do in the toil… errr… it’s an Australian TV award, sorta like the Emmy’s in the States.

The TV Week Gold Logie Award. Photo Courtesy http://junkee.com/

The TV Week Gold Logie Award. Photo Courtesy http://junkee.com/

Like I said, I’m never going to win any awards for my efforts. This is, and will remain the case for eternity as far as I’m concerned. I don’t have the knowledge, or equipment, to put together clips with great fades and slick graphics.

CGI?

I don’t need no stinkin’ CGI.

An El Cheapo Nikon L120, the camera in my phone which is currently of the Android persuasion, a Contour Roam II and MS Movie Maker to stitch it all together.

Even though I don’t have the knowledge or top shelf equipment, I do try to put together a decent YouTube clip. I enjoy sharing my experiences and travels with you and I’m always looking for better ways to do things.

One of the things that has been bugging me lately, is that all my clips are done from the Contour mounted to my lid. This is great for point of view (POV), but a helmet camera can only entertain for just so long before it gets boring.

There's A Hole Like This On The Other Side Too

There’s A Hole Like This On The Other Side Too

So in the pursuit of better filmography, I’ve been messing with alternative mounting positions.

On Sunday, while cleaning Bluey, I noticed a 8mm threaded hole in the swing arm just forward and below the rear axle. I’d seen the hole before, but never paid it any mind. There’s a matching hole on the opposite side of the bike too. I’ve got no idea what the holes are for, but in the 2-1/2 years I’ve had Bluey, I’ve never used them for anything.

Suddenly, in a flash of brilliance, it dawned on me. The Contour has a 1/4″ Whitworth screw fitting in its base. Most decent cameras come standard with this fitting, which allows you to mount it to things like quick releases for tripods and the like.

What if I attached a bracket and a bolt to the swing arm and mounted the camera to it?

Picture me, like in the old cartoons, legs are running but the body is in the air, stationary. I couldn’t get down to the hardware store fast enough.

I bought a galvanised 50mm x 50mm x 4mm (2″ x 2″ x 1/8″) thick ‘L’ bracket, a packet of 1-1/2″ x 1/4″ Whitworth bolts (& nuts) and a packet of 1/4″ Whitworth wing nuts.

Grand total $10.

50 x 50 x 4 Gal 'L' Bracket

50 x 50 x 4 Gal ‘L’ Bracket

OK so I didn’t need packets of the stuff, but you never know when you might need them again.

I mounted the bracket to the left side of the swing arm using an 8mm bolt I had on hand, and adjusted the bracket so it was level before nipping it up. Initially I mounted the bracket to this side of the bike thinking it would get too hot on the other side due to the proximity of the exhaust cannon. In hind sight, I don’t think the camera would get a lot of heat on the right side of the bike,there’s a fair bit of clearance available.

Forward Facing High Position

Forward Facing High Position

Initially I mounted the camera above the bracket as shown in the preceding photo. In this position you get a good appreciation of how the swing arm moves in relation to the rest of the bike, which is good.

The down side is you get a lot of boot action, which is not good.

Under Slung Mounting

Under Slung Mounting

So I flipped the camera over and found that having the camera under slung in relation to the bracket gives a better view of the world, while maintaining the visual of the swing arm and it’s movement.

You could conceivably rotate the camera to face backwards as well. I’ve not done this as yet, as I ran out of daylight, but I think it would give a nice effect, especially if one of my friends were following me.

The bracket can stay on the bike too, I don’t think there’s any chance of catching my ankle on the thing when I move around the bike.

I’m still looking for a spot to mount the camera on the front of the bike. This is n’t as easy as it sounds, I’m mindful of how the front fork and wheel moves in relationship to the fairing and frame of the bike, which is rigid.

The other thing is that if I put a bracket of some kind on the front of the bike, I will need to make sure it doesn’t hook anyone, or me, as I move around the bike.

I’ll have a think about this one and see if I can rig something up. In the mean time check the video below to see how the swing arm mounting looks.

Cheers

 

See some of my other clips here

11 responses

  1. Well it’s certainly a different place to mount a camera and if you cut footage in with helmet mounted stuff it will make for some diverse interest. Don’t know that I’d want to watch it for hours on end though!

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2015 at 3:48 AM

  2. Great post and information!

    I would have expected more “jumping” around on the video with it being mounted to the swing arm – surprisingly smooth. Nice work.

    Like

    May 20, 2015 at 6:06 AM

    • Yeah that surprised me as well. Theres a slight vibration on initial acceleration but that passes quickly.

      Like

      May 20, 2015 at 8:02 AM

  3. I really like it.
    Glad you’re wearing boots, I remember seeing your toes on a post with the Pillion in a Million somewhere, and they ain’t pretty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2015 at 7:24 AM

  4. errr.. no LOL

    Like

    May 20, 2015 at 8:12 AM

  5. Sneaky to find a new mounting spot.

    Do you think the threaded holes were for bobbins you could use a rear paddock stand? I did that with the Gladius.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 21, 2015 at 6:56 AM

    • The bike has a centre stand as standard fitment so I don’t really need a paddock stand.

      But yes, that’s possible. Who knows the swing arm may fit another model sports bike too.

      Like

      May 21, 2015 at 8:14 AM

  6. Cool angle! The only thing that would concern me on that is with over time vibration, that nut working itself loose and your camera falling off. For piece of mind, put a little loctite on it for an extra precaution.

    I was thinking when reading this; how cool would it be to have 2 (or more) cameras mounted to the bike and do a multi camera edit. Multi cam edits can be done with most editing software now and is fairly easy to pull off. Just requires some extra time in your post production time.

    Anyway, keep tinkering with that. Good stuff!!

    Like

    May 24, 2015 at 11:05 PM

    • Thanks for commenting Bueller.

      The position was not meant to be permanent as I only have one camera and need to move it about a bit. I haven’t experienced the wing nuts coming loose yet, even after an hour of riding.

      Your thoughts are valid though, and I’ll keep and eye on it

      Like

      May 25, 2015 at 8:16 AM

Leave a Reply

