motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

101

G’day

Last week after my Mt Tamborine post went up, I realised that The Experimental Ghost had reached a milestone. Truth be told, I didn’t realise anything, I got a message from WordPress congratulating me about it.

100 posts isn’t a lot in the scheme of things, especially when you compare it to other bloggers who write two or three times a week or more.

So what happened when I got the congratulatory message from WordPress?

It prompted me to revisit what I’d written over the past few years. I started randomly reading through some of my previous posts, working my way back in time as I went.

Initially the interest was to see what I’d written about, then to see how well (or poorly) I’d written it, and finally I wanted to see if my style had changed at all. Eventually I found myself reading my first post, Out Of The Blue, which went up on November 16, 2012.

101-a

Just A Random Photo – South Bank Parklands.

At the time I had no idea where the blog was headed, or what it was supposed to be about. There was no plan, there still isn’t really; well there’s enough of a plan to keep the focus loosely around motorcycling and touring. With some “What the?” topics thrown in to try to keep you awake. A bit like the photos on this page really 🙂

After re-reading that first post and expecting the worst, it was good to see it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. I don’t think the tone of the blog, or my writing style has changed a lot since then either; although it has evolved somewhat.

One thing I remember consciously doing when starting this blog, was that I wanted to use a pseudonym. I don’t know why I did that; fear of failure maybe?

I don’t know, I guess I just wanted to separate me from myself.

Can a person do that?

More Randomness

More Randomness – Brisbane River Looking South To Kangaroo Point From South Bank Parklands.

I’ve found it’s not as easy to do as it sounds. A person’s character will come through in their writing or photography or in anything they create or do.  No matter how hard they try, there’s always a part of them that tags along for the ride.

Do I regret using a pseudonym?

Yes and no.

In one way I can become conflicted with what I’m trying to say and how I want to say it, while on the other hand The Experimental Ghost allows me to be more liberal with my approach. Having said that, there is a lot of me coming through and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to separate myself from The Experimental Ghost completely.

In fact, the day may come when I appear in a photo without the helmet; I probably won’t own up to it, but I’ll be there. Just look for the bloke that doesn’t smile a lot.

It’ll be a bit like “Where’s Wally”, or Rob the dentist on the tooth-brush commercials. You know, the one that has his back to the camera and gives you a bit of a wave during the voice over?

No, my name isn’t Rob… or Wally for that matter. Although, I’ve been called a Wally once or twice.

Photo Taken At Aratula 90km (55 mi) South West Of Brisbane

Aratula 90 km (55 mi) South West Of Brisbane

Trying to keep the blog going week to week has been challenging at times. Finding new topics to talk about doesn’t always come easily, while at other times I find I can’t type fast enough.

In all, writing this blog is a very rewarding experience and one I’m thoroughly enjoying. I’ve learned a lot and  I’ve even made some new friends along the way.

Maybe one day I’ll even get to meet one or two of you.

Cheers.

post-milestone-100-2x

11 responses

  1. Good stuff! I can really relate to your feelings on this, I’m sort of on the same blogging journey as you…just about, but a few posts ahead.
    I love that last photo, it’s got a grittiness and beauty all rolled into one.
    Ride safe.
    Dookes

    Like

    March 11, 2015 at 8:26 AM

    • Aratula is a nice pat of the country located on what’s know as the Scenic Rim. That photo was taken at the beginning of January ’15 (our summer) on a cool day. Last time I came through there in late November it was 43°C (110°F)!

      Thank for commenting

      Like

      March 11, 2015 at 8:36 AM

  2. “A person’s character will come through in their writing or photography or in anything they create or do. No matter how hard they try, there’s always a part of them that tags along for the ride…”

    But only the writer or photographer or whatever is likely to identify the threadbare spots in their art, those places where their skin shows.

    You mentioned that you just wanted to separate from yourself. I’m curious… Many motorcyclists seem to experience riding simultaneously the same way and different than other riders do: Does riding separate you, remove you from yourself, or does it make you more yourself than you might be at other times?

    Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

    Like

    March 11, 2015 at 11:15 AM

    • That’s and excellent question.

      I think riding allows me to lose myself in the moment, become more free, to be myself.

      I don’t have to keep up appearances, like I would in when I’m at work or something.

      Like

      March 11, 2015 at 11:24 AM

  3. Here’s to 1001!!

    Liked by 1 person

    March 12, 2015 at 1:26 AM

  4. Congrats on 101. Anonymity is all well and good until you meet a couple other bloggers in person, they you get outed. Bobskoot was big on using people’s real names in comments. It eventually gets out.

    Cheers – Brandy (aka Trobairitz)

    Liked by 1 person

    March 12, 2015 at 8:56 AM

  5. Bob

    So, you fancy yourself a Ghost Writer? (-: Maybe you can appear in some of your photos as just another face in the crowd, like Alfred Hitchcock used to do in his TV show and movies. A camoflauged cameo appearance. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

    March 14, 2015 at 5:59 AM

  6. Pingback: Shall We Play A Game. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

  7. LB

    Congratulations on the milestone of 100 posts!
    I very much enjoyed reading going back in time with you, and your thoughts on the pseudonym.
    Keep on writing Rob or Wally or … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    March 23, 2015 at 7:20 AM

Leave a Reply

