motorcycles, travel, friendship, respect… I may drift off into WTF-land at times so hang in there.

I Wouldn’t Change One-Single-Thing.

G’day

As I write this, The Pillion In A Million is out gallivanting somewhere on a far away continent; she will be gone for two months experiencing new things, making new friends and generally having a good time.

I can’t recall a time when she wasn’t thinking about travelling, researching prospective destinations or bemoaning the fact that she had to wait until she finished university to finally travel.

It’s been one of her life long ambitions.

Notice I said ambition, not dream?

AMBITION: noun – a strong desire to do or achieve something.

DREAM: verb – indulge in daydreams or fantasies about something greatly desired.

The difference is subtle, but it’s there.

This is the difference between my daughter and me.

I grew up in a different time: For me international travel was a dream, one that was very difficult to achieve due to social and economic anchors. Instead, the goal was to find someone to share your life with, settle down, buy a house and start a family. Preferable in that order.

Travel was never high on our list of priorities, it could come later.

I regret none of what I have done, or the decisions I have made and I’m proud of what The Pillion and I have achieved in our life together.

I wouldn’t change one-single-thing.

The other day it dawned on me that as our kids are getting older, we’re getting more freedom to travel. Last year saw us get away quite a bit, a day here, a weekend there; finally ending in 10 days away in November.

2015 will see us build on our résumé of getaways, nothing too distant and nothing more than a few nights at a time, but come mid February 2016, we will be two-up for 7 weeks to the southern climes of Australia.

The first two weeks will be with a group of friends and are pretty much fully planned. The remaining 5 weeks are anyone’s guess: Bar a few stops to see relatives and friends, we’re going to play it by ear. If we like a place we’ll stop for a bit and explore.

So whats the difference between us and The Pillion In A Million?

Well, nothing really.

Except that our daughter is doing her travelling at the start of her life, while we are doing ours a little later. Sure, we might not be able to go bungee jumping, or do some of the more extreme tours on offer like jet boating, but we can still travel, explore and enjoy the world around us.

Just because we’ve become a little more cuddly and have some grey hair, doesn’t mean life stops.

…and on that revelation, I’ll leave you with some happy snaps from our daughters travels… used with permission of course.

Cheers

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit:  Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit:  Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

Photo Credit: Pillion In A Million (Used With Permission)

12 responses

  1. kellyva

    Love this post, we can soooo relate! 🙂

    Like

    January 28, 2015 at 2:02 AM

  2. I too lived in the same generation where we are expected to accomplish life goals before pursuing adventures. However, I do regret not going out to have the adventures before my late husband passed away. So now, I gave up all of my worldly possession to seek out that adventures before it is too late. Life is too short!

    Like

    January 28, 2015 at 2:58 AM

    • More power to you!

      I’d probably do exactly the same thing if I were in your situation. In fact I’m encouraging my 80 year old mother to travel to Europe to see her family, perhaps for the last time.

      I tell her the same thing “Life is too short.”

      Thanks you for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

      January 28, 2015 at 8:09 AM

  3. Wonderful photos from your daughter.

    While hubby and I have never really done any travel (nothing outside the US and Canada) I don’t regret it either. I love the life that we have and as we get older we plan to travel a little more.

    I am looking forward to following along on your trips this year.

    Like

    January 28, 2015 at 7:18 AM

  4. Bob

    Good for the pillion in a million! I too, do not regret any travel choices I have made, but as I get close to the big 60 in age, I realize I no longer have all the time in the world. As such, as a travel opportunity presents itself, and we have the means and resources to take advantage of it, we go, regardless of other so-called pressing obligations. No more “we’ll do that next year, after blah, blah, blah (insert excuses).

    Like

    January 31, 2015 at 5:20 AM

    • We’re nearly at that point, just another 12 months till the youngest is out of school and is on his way. We already have a 6 weekk trip planned for late February next year

      Like

      February 11, 2015 at 7:08 PM

  5. LB

    How wonderful for your daughter! Please keep sharing her marvelous photos whenever you can.

    Like

    February 10, 2015 at 12:18 PM

    • I will if I can Laurie, I don’t want to step on her toes and post all her holiday photo’s 🙂

      Like

      February 11, 2015 at 7:12 PM

  6. Pingback: Home At Last | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

  7. Pingback: Life Is Good. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

