I don't ride a bike to add days to my life. I ride a bike to add life to my days.

Future Classics

G’day

When people think about classic bikes, they think about old Indians, Triumphs, AJS, Norton… bikes in that era. Yep they are definitely classics, and they have the price tags to go with them.

Sometimes I think about bikes I’ve owned, and even thought. “Wouldn’t it be great to have this or that bike again”.

I wrote about my old Honda 750 Four a few posts ago, and no I wouldn’t have one of them again. I would own a Kawasaki Z1R though, complete with its wooden front brake and collector that hung too low on the left side.

1979 Kawasaki Z1R MKII

My 1979 Kawasaki Z1R MKII

Back when I had mine they were desirable, but not yet collectible.

Unfortunately for me, some of the bikes I’ve owned in the past (cars too for that matter) have now become classics or collectible , and are waaaay out of my price range. You’d be lucky to find a Z1R for under AU$14,000 in fair condition in today’s market. Although its not impossible if you’re patient.

Even the a 1984 Kawasaki GPz 900R or 1985 Suzuki GSXR 750 Slab Side can command a 10K plus price tag if it’s in good condition. I’ve seen some GPz’s for as low as $2500, but they were incomplete or needed some work.

What about 90’s or naughties era bikes?

How many of them have gained a following so strong that they are hard to come by?

These are my picks of what might become valuable in the future.

Harley Davidson XR1200(X)

I’m not sure what to make of this bike. Was it an attempt to rekindle the XLCR from the ’70, or was it HD’s way of thumbing their nose at Buell?

Harley says that 12731 of these bikes were produced from 2008 through 2013. In contrast there were 1923 XLCR’s made between 1977 and 1979.

Will the XR1200(X) become collectible?

Maybe.

Harley Davidson XR1200

Harley Davidson XR1200

Suzuki GSF1200S Bandit

Not really the best handling bike around, but what riders liked about the Bandit was the retro styling and the fact that the engine was based on the GSX-R1100 engines of the late 80’s. This fact alone allowed owners to get some extra ponies extracted with out too much effort.

Suzuki GSF 1200S Bandit (Photo Courtesy Motorcycle News)

Suzuki GSF 1200S Bandit (Photo Courtesy Motorcycle News)

Moto Guzzi MGS-01 Corsa

Moto Guzzi built these bikes in limited quantities for racers, a street version was never made… Pity, these things are dead sexy, and sound great.

Because of the limited production run these things will hold their value.

I’d have one of these because they come in red.

Moto Guzzi MGS 01 Corsa

Moto Guzzi MGS 01 Corsa

Honda RC51

RC51’s were nick-named The Duck Killer and were produced in direct competition to Ducati. Weighing in at 200kg and producing 133 hp, the RC51 went on to win two World Super Bike Championships and one AMA Championship.

I’ve actually seen one of these floating around my home town complete with one of those Knight Rider pulsing red light thingies… Looks pretty cool me thinks.

Honda RC51 (Photo Courtesy Motorera)

Honda RC51 (Photo Courtesy Motorera)

Indian Chief

The original company that made Indian motorcycles went belly up in 1953. Over the years there have been attempts to resurrect the brand, the latest being Polaris Industries who acquired it in 2011.

I’m of the opinion that the the first bikes produced (low serial numbers) by Polaris in the current era will become collectibles.

Indian Chief Classic

Indian Chief Classic

Kawasaki ZRX 1100

You don’t often see these bikes up for sale, but when you do, they still hold their value depending on their condition. The engines in these were de-tuned ZZ-R 1100 power plants.

Producing around 98 bhp these bikes had great mid range and oodles of torque. The ZRX appeals to riders who want a modern-day Eddie Lawson Replica.

Why the 1100?

Because it was the first.

Kawasaki ZRX-1100 (Photo Courtesy Motorcycle News)

Kawasaki ZRX-1100 (Photo Courtesy Motorcycle News)

There are other bikes of course.

What bikes do you think you could buy today, that say… in 20-30 years would become a collectible?

I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

Cheers

6 responses

  1. Dan

    I can’t help but wonder if any of the current/recent air cooled Ducatis may hit collectable status… like my old Hypermotard EVO 1100 SP. That was a weapon… and definitely unique.

    April 16, 2014 at 1:20 PM

    • Don’t know much about Ducati but I reckon there would have to be at least one or two that will become collecable

      April 16, 2014 at 6:48 PM

  2. tony

    I remember those bikes you had. We also had some oldies that are hard to find now. I remember my older brother chopping up some old Kwakas and hondas to try an make some drag bikes.Wouldnt mind some of those bikes now

    April 16, 2014 at 5:37 PM

    • People who got ‘em don’t want to part with them now… or they’ve been chopped or modded so much it would take a lot of work to get them back to original

      April 16, 2014 at 6:51 PM

  3. When I started reading this post, the first bike that came to my mind was the ZRX. Very collectible round these parts, especially the Eddie Lawson replica. The boyfriend had one a couple of years back, he really regrets selling it.
    I think the XR1200 (not the XR1200X) will be collectible, because I *believe* they were only made for one year before they were upgraded to the “X”. I’m thinking about buying one when I sell my Sportster 1200, just waiting for the right deal to come along. I can see many of the Buell models will becoming collectible as well, been tempted to pick up a
    Lightning but I’m concerned about parts availability down the road…

    April 25, 2014 at 12:47 AM

    • I thought about the Buell as well. I rode a lightening back in 2000 and man was it a lot of fun. I’m wih you on parts.

      April 25, 2014 at 5:33 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers