Motorcycle Leathers – All You Need To Know

G’day

I bought a Stagg leather jacket last century… 1990 I think.

Stagg Leather Goods^ are an Australian company renowned for their quality products, only Walden Miller, another Australian company, are considered to be as good or better.

Over the years my Stagg has withstood freezing cold, (… yes it gets below 0°C (32°F) here sometimes ;-) ) blistering sun, tropical storms, getting dragged along the tarmac and… err…. cattle attack*.

Stagg

When I bought the Stagg, it was an expensive jacket at over $300 AU, but in hind sight it was the best investment I could have made at the time, and in all the time I’ve had it, the only repair that I have had to do, was to replace the lining. 

That was in 2012, and at the same time I gave it the lanolin treatment to soften the leather up as it was going hard from age. When I got it back from the repairer, the jacket was like new, and even though it has no body armour, I still wear it daily.

I plan on keeping it as long as possible, if it lasts me another 20 years I’ll be more than happy.

What should you look for look for when your shopping for leathers though?

The rule of thumb says “Get the best that you can afford.” But buying something that looks great, but wouldn’t save you if you fell off your skateboard is a waste of money. A bit of knowledge on the topic can go a long way to helping you make the right choice.

A few weeks ago I came across this article which gives a great insight into what to look for when buying leathers. Have a read, if nothing else you’ll be able to guide a new comer with confidence.

Cheers

* Rule No.1. Do not follow cattle trucks too closely!

^Stagg Leather Goods
Address: 25 Clifford St, Huntingdale, VIC 3166
Phone: +61 3 95488530      
Website: none
Email: none

One response

  1. I had a Walden Miller jacket for years, got it in my twenties and rode the arms off it on my RGV back in the day :)
    Twenty years later and a gradually widening girth means it don’t fit no more, so up on eBay she went and I got good returns on it… after 20 years. You gotta pay to play as they say (ooh now I’m a poet).

    March 19, 2014 at 6:27 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers