A Visit To My Therapist

G’day

Last century I worked at a place at the northern end of the Queensland Gold Coast. It was a 140 km (85 mile) round trip from my home on the south side of Brisbane, and consisted of about 15 minutes worth of suburban back streets and 35 minutes on a straight, boring, piece of highway with a 100 kmh (60 mph) speed limit.

The upshot of working at that place, was that I usually knocked off at 2:00pm on a Friday, which allowed me to visit my therapist on the way home.

I was thinking about this the other day, and on a whim I asked the “Pillion-In-A-Million” (Not to be confused with “My Pillion”) if she would like to join me on a trip to see my therapist. She gave me a funny look, but as I had told her I was taking the bike and we could stop for a coffee on the way home she agreed to come along for the ride.

I guess I should have told her that my “therapist” was a 350km (220 mile) round trip that would take in the Gold Coast Hinterland and some of its more challenging roads. Roads that are steep, rough in places, and have hair-pin turns with no guard railing to catch you if you stuff up.

As with all challenging roads, there are scenic lookouts and places of interest along the way. One of these places is The Natural Arch, a place I knew was on the Pillion-In-A-Million’s bucket list.

I’ll let the photos tell the story…

Cheers

000c

The road ahead…

000d

Love these old bridges but treat them with respect.

000g

Some sections of road are really narrow and have steep drop offs on one side and falling rocks the other

000h

Yes that’s an out-house in the distance!

000L

I don’t usually like fish-eye effects but this looks awesome

000m

Out of the twisties…

000n

Natural Arch Reserve. Some people call it the Natural Bridge

001

Take the path less traveled

002

The walk is a little over 1km (1/2 mile) long and will take about an hour at a leisurely pace

003

Ah the serenity

004

The Natural Arch

005

Inside the Natural Arch

006

Stairway to heaven?

007

Panorama inside the Natural Arch. I love my phone for this

008

What, more stairs!?

009

A flat bit at last

011

Two Pines Cafe.

012

Pillion-In-A- MIllion

013

Inside the cafe

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Upper Beechmont

022

Upper Beechmont hang-gliding and para-gliding launch pad panorama

 

6 responses

  1. Wow, what a great road and truly beautiful place. No wonder it’s your therapist. Ahhhh summer…forecast here calls for 30+ cm of snow tomorrow night…on top of the 100 or so cm already on the ground…

    January 3, 2014 at 12:04 AM

    • Thanks for the comment.

      Seems like a world of extremes, you have snow and we are gearing up for temperatures in the mid 40’s (113F) along the coast this weekend. That with sub tropical humidity will make it interesting riding weather ;-)

      January 3, 2014 at 7:59 AM

  2. Pingback: A Visit To My Therapist – The Movie | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

  3. Love this post. You truly live in one of the amazing places on this planet! Gorgeous scenery. I love that you call the road your “therapist”. I think I’m going to have to steal that! ;D

    February 17, 2014 at 5:17 AM

  4. Pingback: To Group Or Not To Group. What’s The Question? | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers